Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Had this soup tonight; very tasty. I also used canned corn and canned crab; believe, of course, better with fresh, but had to improvise. I used cream instead of half and half, also I used white wine instead of water to mix with the flour, and added about 1/4 cup sour cream, about a tablespoon or so of tarragon, 1/8 cup sherry and 1 tablespooon of butter whisked at the end before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this soup for our company's Chili and Soup Cook-Off contest and it took 1st place in the Soup division! I used frozen corn kernels and "Slap Ya Mama" Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This would have been very good. I made it according to the recipe, but used Old Bay instead of cayenne per other reviewers. Took it to a soup contest at my sister's house and tasted it--it was good but bland. So I added spices and cayenne and it ended up too hot. My fault for adding too much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a good alternative for leftover crab. Not a big cook - this was easy and taste great. Easy enough for a weeknight dinner. Watch the Cayenne -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a very good soup. Did a few things others suggested including using old bay in place of Cajun seasoning. I also added a can of cream of mushroom in place of one of the chicken broth cans. Used all half and half (no milk). Whole family including 10 year old loved it. I also added about a tablespoon of red wine vinegar which really made it great. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I've made this recipe for a few years now and it's always excellent! I usually go lighter on the chicken broth though, and heavier on the half and half (about 1 to 1.5 cans of broth and double the half and half), and I feel it tastes much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Made this for a quick Sunday dinner and it was delicious. Unfortunately, I only had imitation crab so I had to use that. But we did have fresh sweet corn so that just made the soup. We would prefer it a little bit thicker and I think it's b/c I used soy flour, not all purpose that it didn't get as thick. Also used Old Bay instead of the cayenne and cajun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this recipe today and it is phenomenal! I made some changes to fit my dietary needs. I used fat free milk and fat free half and half. It was still VERY tasty and rich tasting. I love this recipe and it will be something I make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Mmm... good. Substituted one can of chicken broth with cream of chicken and was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! The favor is LIKE THAT! I did not use a food processor and used heavy whipping cream and milk, adding it slowly and continuously stirring. I love spice so it was just right! I too used Old Bay seasoning but I also added chopped shrimp (small size) and chives...I was so excited to see I made this! It's delicious and my fiance can't get enough! Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lives2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States