Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Yummy - hit the spot when I had a cold. Used frozen corn and 1.5 tsp of Old Bay instead of the seasonings in the recipe. Otherwise, followed recipe to a T. Served with a salad and crusty bread. Looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This had a great flavor but I thought it could have been a little thicker. I ended up adding some extra flour to do this. I used canned lump crab meat and canned corn and it was still good. I also used fat free half and half. Thanks for the great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We had this as our New Year dinner treat! It was AMAZING! I used canned lump crab and the frozen corn (2 1/2 cups). I did wash the crab with a bit of lemon juice and water as another reviewer suggested. It came out great! Of course fresh would be even better but more $$$. Next time I would add some chopped red bell pepper for some color. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This soup recipe is a favorite and a must have in my household now thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We used dungeness crab that we picked from the shell and cut the corn off of the cob. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
this soup was a hit! I followed it almost exactly except that I used a little less crab meat since it is so expensive. I used .7 lb. It was plenty. I also used Old Bay spice instead of Cajun spice and a few more garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was wonderful. I followed the recipe almost to the T. I pureed a bit more of the mixture because I used extra corn and it was fabulous. My husband and I like spicy, so it wasn't too hot. I did rinse my fresh crab meat in water and a splash lemon juice, and I was glad I did because it would have been too seafood-y. YUMMY! It was really great; perfectly creamy and seasoned in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Tasty recipe. I added 1 Tbs. Old Bay Seasoning along with the bay leaves. Also added about 1 tsp. Lemon/Pepper Seasoning. Used 1/2 and 1/2 and skim milk. We like it spicy so this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I did what I always do with a new recipe. I made it exactly as described to get an idea what the author had in mind. Then I made it again and tweaked it to my taste. What I noticed right away was that the bay took over and gave the entire dish a cloying bay flavor. So I just used one leaf and at that I took it out after the 10 minute simmer. That brought the bay into balance. The other thing I noticed was a lack of seafood flavor in the finished product. So, I substituted 28 oz of clam juice for 28 oz of chicken broth. I also substituted 1/2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning, which has a minimal bay contribution, ironically, for 1/2 tsp Cajun Seasoning. These changes mellowed out the bay while adding seafood flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Came out great and was VERY easy to make! I made a couple changes...I eliminated the cayenne and cajun seasoning. I used old bay as i had seen others suggest, I also mad a rue with the flour instead of adding the flour to the broth. If anyone is looking for a way to make it gluten free, I was successful at making my rue with potato flour and a little bit of xanthan gum. I was so excited that it worked....no one was the wiser. I also used a cup of heavy cream instead of the half and half and milk. For the crab meat, I used canned lump crab meat.(blue crab brand I think. $17.99 for the 16oz can) I did use fresh ears of corn but i am not sure that was necessary. My husband and daughter loved it and are fighting over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States