Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used vegetable stock and I didn't have any chives or wine so I had to leave them out. I only simmered this for about 20 minutes as the potatoes were done by then. My daughter and I really enjoyed this and it's on my make again list. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I don't think I would change a thing on this recipe. I did use a very good extra sharp white cheddar cheese and I think I could have cut back on it to lighten this up a little. Both dh & I think it's a keeper. My only problem was I only made 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was really good. Very fresh tasting and I loved how easy it was too make. My only complaint was that I wish it had made more as there weren't any leftovers!! Next time, I might double the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe we have used for years! I have recently modified to use light cream and reduced fat cheddar. The creamy taste is still there, but hopefully, fewer calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. It smelled so wonderful. I did make a few changes in it though as I made it. I used about 1/2 cup wine. I added 1/4 tsp cracked red pepper. I also used I stalk of green onion instead of chives. I made this with a friend and we finished it the same night. I hope you enjoy making this as well as eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBATEMYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Very delicious! I made a couple of adjustments - I toasted some minced garlic and added to the mixture while it was simmering. I also cut down the amount of cheese. I thought the full amount would overwhelm the other flavors of the soup. I will definitely make this again - maybe add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made it for a family cooking day, and everyone really enjoyed it. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very warm and comforting. I halved the cumin and put in 1/2 tsp basil instead of the sage (didn't have any) I also used green onion instead of chives. It came out lovely. I didn't have any seperation problems and simmered it a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
my husband absolutely loved it. we finished the entire pot over the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I had this last night at a little get together and it was a hit! I added bacon and used the bacon fat instead of the butter to saute the onions and potato's. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States