Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was good, but it kind of separated out on me a little, due to the long simmering time after the addition of the flour. If I were to do it again, I would just add the flour and broth to the veggies, let that cook until the taters were tender, and then add the milk and let it thicken up. When I first added the milk, it had a beautiful texture, but broke up with all the simmering. I simmered at a low temp too. I used one Yukon Gold and one red potato. I used a mix of skim milk and fat-free evaporated milk, and added a bit of both extra milk and broth. Omitted the wine. I cut the cheese down to 1 cup. It was very rich and creamy, even with the skim milk. Served with focaccia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I read through the reviews before I made this soup, finding WhatADish's review quite helpful so I made one minor change regarding the milk. I didn't add it until right before I took it off the heat, right after I added the cheese. I also did not add a whole cup and cup and a half. I used about a quarter cup or so, just to give it a touch of creaminess. Next time I make this, I'd use different spices, I think. I just wasn't a fan of the spices in this soup, but that's really just personal preferance. I think I'd add chunked ham, too. Oh! When I sauteed the onion, I also added a mess of fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. It smelled so wonderful. I did make a few changes in it though as I made it. I used about 1/2 cup wine. I added 1/4 tsp cracked red pepper. I also used I stalk of green onion instead of chives. I made this with a friend and we finished it the same night. I hope you enjoy making this as well as eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBATEMYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Very delicious! I made a couple of adjustments - I toasted some minced garlic and added to the mixture while it was simmering. I also cut down the amount of cheese. I thought the full amount would overwhelm the other flavors of the soup. I will definitely make this again - maybe add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good. Followed recipe exactly with the exception of not adding the wine because I didn't have any. Plus I used dried chives and parsley because that's all I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Awesome recipe!!!! We all LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonda Boo
Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I had this last night at a little get together and it was a hit! I added bacon and used the bacon fat instead of the butter to saute the onions and potato's. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very warm and comforting. I halved the cumin and put in 1/2 tsp basil instead of the sage (didn't have any) I also used green onion instead of chives. It came out lovely. I didn't have any seperation problems and simmered it a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Perfect for a snowy winter evening. Only thing I substituted the tops of green onions for chives (since that is what I had). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious! So hearty and comforting. The only changes I made were to omit the parsley - don't like it - and I used a little more cheese. Also, it took less than 30 mins for the potatoes to cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States