Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very warm and comforting. I halved the cumin and put in 1/2 tsp basil instead of the sage (didn't have any) I also used green onion instead of chives. It came out lovely. I didn't have any seperation problems and simmered it a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was good, but I don't know if I'll make this again. I have an older recipe that I think I'll stick with. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious! So hearty and comforting. The only changes I made were to omit the parsley - don't like it - and I used a little more cheese. Also, it took less than 30 mins for the potatoes to cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used vegetable stock and I didn't have any chives or wine so I had to leave them out. I only simmered this for about 20 minutes as the potatoes were done by then. My daughter and I really enjoyed this and it's on my make again list. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was good, but it kind of separated out on me a little, due to the long simmering time after the addition of the flour. If I were to do it again, I would just add the flour and broth to the veggies, let that cook until the taters were tender, and then add the milk and let it thicken up. When I first added the milk, it had a beautiful texture, but broke up with all the simmering. I simmered at a low temp too. I used one Yukon Gold and one red potato. I used a mix of skim milk and fat-free evaporated milk, and added a bit of both extra milk and broth. Omitted the wine. I cut the cheese down to 1 cup. It was very rich and creamy, even with the skim milk. Served with focaccia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made it for a family cooking day, and everyone really enjoyed it. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Very delicious! I made a couple of adjustments - I toasted some minced garlic and added to the mixture while it was simmering. I also cut down the amount of cheese. I thought the full amount would overwhelm the other flavors of the soup. I will definitely make this again - maybe add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. It smelled so wonderful. I did make a few changes in it though as I made it. I used about 1/2 cup wine. I added 1/4 tsp cracked red pepper. I also used I stalk of green onion instead of chives. I made this with a friend and we finished it the same night. I hope you enjoy making this as well as eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBATEMYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I added some tarragon and garlic. Turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe we have used for years! I have recently modified to use light cream and reduced fat cheddar. The creamy taste is still there, but hopefully, fewer calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Find out how to make the soup from your favorite cafe right in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States