Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
So GOOD! I used frozen hash brown potatoes so I only did about 10 minutes instead of the 30 minutes. I did use fresh corn kernals off the cob though. Delicious and great thickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was delicious! Will make it again. I used oil instead of butter. And I left out the sage, chives, and wine - just because I didn't have them on hand. It was still a big hit, but I will add those ingredients next time; we like big flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReSoNate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I read through the reviews before I made this soup, finding WhatADish's review quite helpful so I made one minor change regarding the milk. I didn't add it until right before I took it off the heat, right after I added the cheese. I also did not add a whole cup and cup and a half. I used about a quarter cup or so, just to give it a touch of creaminess. Next time I make this, I'd use different spices, I think. I just wasn't a fan of the spices in this soup, but that's really just personal preferance. I think I'd add chunked ham, too. Oh! When I sauteed the onion, I also added a mess of fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
LOVED THIS SOUP! I doubled everything, except the cheese (I used Velveeta(R), because it melts better for me), cumin and sage, which I kept the same. I did not have dried sage on hand, so I used poultry seasoning. I ended up simmering the potatoes in the chicken broth and wine only, until tender and then adding in the milk to prevent curdleing, and allowed that to heat through before continuing with the recipe, which worked out perfectly. I am a salt fanatic, lol, but felt that the finished soup was seasoned perfectly and didn't need any, but I did add pepper. This was so easy to make and super flavorful...this is definately going into our rotation! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was soooo delicious! But I made some adjustments: I used olive oil instead of butter, veggie stock instead of chicken and omitted the bay leaf, cumin, sage, chives (I didn't have these). Because I'm always trying to get my man-friend to eat more veggies, I also added 3 celery hearts and 10 baby carrots along with the potato. I felt as though there might not be enough broth, so I adjusted the portions of flour/water/milk. This let me use more corn (I used a full 16 oz bag). I also decided to add half a bunch of fresh chopped flat-leaf parsley. I only added about 1 cup of cheese, and that was perfect. Because I'm a boozehound, I also upped the wine to 1/3 cup. One tip: If you coat the veggies with the flour and add the milk/stock SLOWLY, there will not be a need to whisk (yay!). Definitely a keeper. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I loved it! I will admit that I added chicken and some extra wine though! :) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe is delicious! My very picky three year old gobbled it up! I did use dried parsley flakes instead of fresh and also subbed basil for sage. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Thanks for the tip about it separating! I also waited to add the milk until close to the end. I did add a little more chicken stock (about 1/2 cup more) after the flour to make up for the lack of milk, otherwise the liquid would have been too thick. When you do add the milk be sure to first whisk some of the hot liquid into it, so you're not adding cold milk to the pot (as that can also cause separation).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Didn't have any parsley, chives, sage, or white wine. Still tasted amazing. I'll use this recipe again. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I gave it a tex-mex flair with peper flakes and cilantro. My family loves this for dipping crunchy chicken taquitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States