Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was delicious, and very simple to make. The only change I made was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Next time, I would use fresh sage, added with the onions, and add w little cayenne or hot sauce. Not very much, but just to give it a little hint of heat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made a few changes. I had no sage or parsley, so I added dried tarragon. I also was out of wine so I used extra dry vermouth. I added a couple of cooked chicken breasts. The results were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very good. I did not follow exactly- diced onion and five large potatoes, threw in a pot with about 5 tbsp butter and cooked until a bit soft, then added flour and mixed together. After the flour, I added three cups chicken broth and a 1/3 cup chopped celery. Added some salt, black pepper, white pepper, sage, and garlic. Cooked until potatoes were cooked through and soft and broth had thickened. The frozen corn went in for a few minutes so it did not over cook. Last I added the milk and cheese, and cooked until warmed through. It was very thick, the texture was nice, and the spices worked. A bit different from the original, but the essential elements were the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good, nice and thick which is what I was looking for. I added chicken and we enjoyed it! Idid spice it up a bit, it was a bit bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made this soup recently but did not add the wine as I didn't have any. It still tasted good, the rest I followed exactly. My husband thought it wasn't substantial enough to be a full meal, but I did. He tends to think every meal must include meat. I found it to be very tasty and filling, particularly if you add bread or some other side. I also liked it because it was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Great recipe! So delicious! I followed the recipe nearly exactly, just omitting the chives and parsley because I didn't have any. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe was just ok to me. I feel like the seasonings are a bit off or maybe it's missing something. I'm just not sure what. It's a decent recipe, but I think it needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
So GOOD! I used frozen hash brown potatoes so I only did about 10 minutes instead of the 30 minutes. I did use fresh corn kernals off the cob though. Delicious and great thickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was delicious! Will make it again. I used oil instead of butter. And I left out the sage, chives, and wine - just because I didn't have them on hand. It was still a big hit, but I will add those ingredients next time; we like big flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReSoNate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I read through the reviews before I made this soup, finding WhatADish's review quite helpful so I made one minor change regarding the milk. I didn't add it until right before I took it off the heat, right after I added the cheese. I also did not add a whole cup and cup and a half. I used about a quarter cup or so, just to give it a touch of creaminess. Next time I make this, I'd use different spices, I think. I just wasn't a fan of the spices in this soup, but that's really just personal preferance. I think I'd add chunked ham, too. Oh! When I sauteed the onion, I also added a mess of fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States