Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I loved it! Okay...so I made a few changes. Here's what I did, but it came out great. I used one can or corn, drained instead of fresh corn. I omitted the red pepper (I had none at the time). I added one can of beans, drained & rinsed. I used kidney beans because I had no black beans. I added one jalapeno pepper, finely minced...because we love picante in my family. I omitted the crush red pepper flakes...preferring the fresh jalapeno oer the dried red pepper. I substituted fresh cilantro for the fresh oreano. Itw as a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This is great! Everyone loved it. I will make again. I didnt have red wine vinegar so I made it with white vinegar and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Just needed to toss in a little fresh cilantro and it was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle & Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Vermont, USA
Living In: Poultney, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Everyone loved the salsa at my Spanish party, I made it the day before (without the avacado) and let it marinade over night. Put in the avacado right before everyone showed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salsa!! It's one of my go-to meals actually. I always use a can of corn and I also throw in a can of black beans (both drained and rinsed). I only ever use half a red onion cause I presonally think that the onion taste is WAY too strong otherwise. I let the whole mixture (minus the avocado - since it would brown) marinate for a few hours. When ready to eat, I throw in the avocado (just one) and serve with either Tostitos Lime chips or Black Bean Chips. SO DELICIOUS! I think its a perfect dinner for two. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
The corn salsa was really great in that it tasted as good as it was easy to make. I didn't have any red wine vinegar on me or red onions (i used yellow), but that didn't seem to have an adverse effect. It still tasted really good. One thing i'd change for the future would be to cut down on the cumin. I added just a pinch less than a tbspoon but it still tasted very Mexican-ish(which gave it that extra punch). overall--great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
We have updated this recipe at the submitter's request. It now has cilantro in place of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Awesome Salsa!! I used it as a side salsd and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
one of the best things i've ever tasted. great just w/ chips or on top of chicken enchilladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I made this for a tex-mex dinner party and it was delicious. Only had 1 avocado so added 2 small diced tomatoes, and also added a can of black beans. Didn't have fresh oregano so just used a sprinkle of dried oregano. Also used frozen corn as didn't have fresh. Really enjoyed this dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States