Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salsa!! It's one of my go-to meals actually. I always use a can of corn and I also throw in a can of black beans (both drained and rinsed). I only ever use half a red onion cause I presonally think that the onion taste is WAY too strong otherwise. I let the whole mixture (minus the avocado - since it would brown) marinate for a few hours. When ready to eat, I throw in the avocado (just one) and serve with either Tostitos Lime chips or Black Bean Chips. SO DELICIOUS! I think its a perfect dinner for two. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
We have updated this recipe at the submitter's request. It now has cilantro in place of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, VERY good! Okay, so I normally think of this kind of stuff as "foo-foo" gourmet and don't even consider making it. BUT, since I was hosting a Fish Taco dinner party, I figured I needed to impress, I went for it. I made about 1-1/2 times the recipe, as I wanted to serve it both with chips as an appetizer and with the Fish Tacos (recipe from this site). I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to mingle flavors and I think that was a good idea--I wouldn't serve this right off of the chopping board. Anyway, I had to fill up the appetizer bowl about 4 times, and the regular 'ol tomato salsa from the jar barely even got touched. It tasted even better on the tacos. My husand ate about 1/3 cup just as a "taster" before anyone even came over. So, huge success, and I will make this again :-) OH! Do wear gloves when handling the jalapenos, my fingers burned for several hours after making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
A variation of this is always a favorite when I bring it in to work, and it isn't unusual for me to be stopped and asked WHEN I'll bring in more. I use 4-3-2-1: 4 ears fresh white corn, 3 avocados (not too ripe), 2 medium tomatos, 1 white onion. Cilantro and Lime Juice to taste. cut kernels off ears, cook in a frying pan w/ tablespoon of olive oil until it starts to carmelize. Meanwhile dice other ingredients into bowl. Pour corn into bowl and mix. Add a qtr cup water to frying pan, scrape and reduce leavings until consistency of a thin sauce, pour over bowl, mix. Add lime juice & minced cilantro. chill. Adding the reduced sauce from the frying pan is important, it adds a lot of extra flavor. I am a pepperhead and enjoy extremely spicy food, but I keep this mild and simple so everyone can enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Mmmmm.... I used one can of corn and black beans each, drained; the full amount of cumin and then some; a touch of smoked paprika; and one diced jalapeno instead of the crushed red pepper. Oh...and I kept the pits in the container to keep the avocado from turning colour. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is one of my go-to dishes, especially for parties. I always receive compliments and never have left-overs! Like other reviews have suggested, I also add in a can of black beans. Quick tip: soap and water won't take the residue from the jalapenos off your hands, but olive oil will. Just rub some on your hands, then wash and dry. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great. I made it the night before then added the avacado right before serving. We served it on the side with grilled fish at a cook off and won first place. More people asked us for this recipe than the grilled fish. I am making it again this weekend for another bar-b-que to serve with a grilled jalapeno stuffed chicken recipe from this web site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Everyone loved the salsa at my Spanish party, I made it the day before (without the avacado) and let it marinade over night. Put in the avacado right before everyone showed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I made this for a tex-mex dinner party and it was delicious. Only had 1 avocado so added 2 small diced tomatoes, and also added a can of black beans. Didn't have fresh oregano so just used a sprinkle of dried oregano. Also used frozen corn as didn't have fresh. Really enjoyed this dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I found the vinegar to be overpowering, the cumin too strong, and thought the flavors just did not go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States