Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, VERY good! Okay, so I normally think of this kind of stuff as "foo-foo" gourmet and don't even consider making it. BUT, since I was hosting a Fish Taco dinner party, I figured I needed to impress, I went for it. I made about 1-1/2 times the recipe, as I wanted to serve it both with chips as an appetizer and with the Fish Tacos (recipe from this site). I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to mingle flavors and I think that was a good idea--I wouldn't serve this right off of the chopping board. Anyway, I had to fill up the appetizer bowl about 4 times, and the regular 'ol tomato salsa from the jar barely even got touched. It tasted even better on the tacos. My husand ate about 1/3 cup just as a "taster" before anyone even came over. So, huge success, and I will make this again :-) OH! Do wear gloves when handling the jalapenos, my fingers burned for several hours after making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I have made a similar recipe from the Moosewood cookbook. Both are fabulous! I can eat the entire bowl as a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was great, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I made this for an appetizer for a dinner with friends and everyone loved it. I made a few changes, though... I used a can of corn instead of fresh and added 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of black bean, drained and rinsed. I left out the red bell pepper and the red pepper flakes because I didn't have them on hand. I also used a yellow onion instead of red because that's what I had. I used less (about half)cilantro because I didn't want it to be too strong. I could taste it but it wasn't overpowering. I mixed everything but the avocado together and put it in the fridge for an hour or two while I prepared the rest of the dinner. Just before serving, I added the avocado. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Make sure to add alot of the other vegetables besides corn to balance out its flavor. Think two avocados two bell peppers and 1/4 cup cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
We have updated this recipe at the submitter's request. It now has cilantro in place of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Just needed to toss in a little fresh cilantro and it was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle & Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Vermont, USA
Living In: Poultney, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Mmmmm.... I used one can of corn and black beans each, drained; the full amount of cumin and then some; a touch of smoked paprika; and one diced jalapeno instead of the crushed red pepper. Oh...and I kept the pits in the container to keep the avocado from turning colour. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salsa!! It's one of my go-to meals actually. I always use a can of corn and I also throw in a can of black beans (both drained and rinsed). I only ever use half a red onion cause I presonally think that the onion taste is WAY too strong otherwise. I let the whole mixture (minus the avocado - since it would brown) marinate for a few hours. When ready to eat, I throw in the avocado (just one) and serve with either Tostitos Lime chips or Black Bean Chips. SO DELICIOUS! I think its a perfect dinner for two. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I would cut the amount of cumin in half. Otherwise, this salsa has a nice crispness & bright color with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States