Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSmile
Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
i used frozen corn, only one avocado, and replaced the crushed red pepper with a diced jalapeno. i also added a can of black beans. it was good but i think could use some more spices. it was still a hit at the football party though. i will make again, but will play around with the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I goofed, so review not total reflection: failed to read directions before putting together so had uncooked corn (have another recipe that way) - but still came out good. Used slightly less than tsp of red pepper flakes and slightly less than full red onion. This onion must've been strong because it was a bit too oniony. Avocados were a bit too soft so turned a bit mushy. Overall good flavor and will make again. Next time will downplay the onion (unless exceptionally mild one), cook the corn (would be good BBQ'd!) and make sure firm avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious !!!!!! For those who are sensitive to spice, I would put little to no pepper flakes! As well, I put a little less red wine vinegar to not overpower the natural flavours in the avocado and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
okay, this was great! so fresh, i used corn from the local farmers market. buuuuut i thought it was a typo when the recipe said one tbl of cumin. whoa! it was way too much! thats the only thing i would change....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea.rio
Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Wow, this was spicy!! Even my husband who LOVES spicy things thought that it was a little too much. Next time I make it I will cut down a bit on the crushed red pepper and that should help. We did like it for the most part though, thanks for the recipe, Cari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Awesome the way it is! I did try with drained black beans which was excellent and usually cheat on the corn and do canned. I back off the onion just a tad but that's just personal preference. Try with some green onion too if you feel so inclined. Serve with chips or this is really an excellent side with grilled fish. THX CARI! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great, unexpected dish for a summer barbeque. Jumped from four stars to five when I omitted cumin, doubled the cilantro, and used one large avocado instead of two. Make sure to prepare and add the avocado just before serving to prevent browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wonderful flavors! I couldn't find fresh corn so used frozen, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States