Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Awesome the way it is! I did try with drained black beans which was excellent and usually cheat on the corn and do canned. I back off the onion just a tad but that's just personal preference. Try with some green onion too if you feel so inclined. Serve with chips or this is really an excellent side with grilled fish. THX CARI! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great, unexpected dish for a summer barbeque. Jumped from four stars to five when I omitted cumin, doubled the cilantro, and used one large avocado instead of two. Make sure to prepare and add the avocado just before serving to prevent browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wonderful flavors! I couldn't find fresh corn so used frozen, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was Awesome!!! Someone referred to it as Cowboy Caviar, and I thought that it was fitting. I did make a few adjustments based on what I had on hand. 1. 1/2 of a Red Onion was enough for my taste. 2. I added 1 Red and 1 Yellow bell pepper. 3. I roasted the corn on the grill first. 4. Added 3 Large tomatoes and 3 Avocados and the juice of one lime. 5. Increased the Crushed red pepper, cumin and cilantro by 1 & 1/2 times.... It makes a larger quantity and was delicious. I went home with an empty bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Excellent! I have made this recipe every weekend since l discovered it 8 weeks ago! I think fresh corn is a must have. Everybody loves this recipe and it doesn't last long and l didn't need to adjust any ingredients. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I bbqed the corn. Grilled on medium until it was a little brown. Used hald the cumin. Added drained black beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Love this! Not only is it good as a salsa, but I also will add a can of black beans (rinsed and drained) and put it in a whole wheat tortilla for lunch! Awesome, and it's even better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj1384

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
this has become a staple and is always a hit. i make a couple changes: most importantly, a jalapeno or two instead of red pepper flakes. the fresh jalapeno taste is amazing. also, i only put in 1/2 red onion, use 4 ears of corn, 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar. so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marla
Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
A variation of this is always a favorite when I bring it in to work, and it isn't unusual for me to be stopped and asked WHEN I'll bring in more. I use 4-3-2-1: 4 ears fresh white corn, 3 avocados (not too ripe), 2 medium tomatos, 1 white onion. Cilantro and Lime Juice to taste. cut kernels off ears, cook in a frying pan w/ tablespoon of olive oil until it starts to carmelize. Meanwhile dice other ingredients into bowl. Pour corn into bowl and mix. Add a qtr cup water to frying pan, scrape and reduce leavings until consistency of a thin sauce, pour over bowl, mix. Add lime juice & minced cilantro. chill. Adding the reduced sauce from the frying pan is important, it adds a lot of extra flavor. I am a pepperhead and enjoy extremely spicy food, but I keep this mild and simple so everyone can enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good salsa. I made exactly as the recipe stated - next time I think I will add some black beans with jalepenos. The recipe servings is 4 - but really it makes alot. I doubled it because I was expecting 12 - a single batch served with tortilla chips would have been just fine..had too much left over. Remember to cube the avocados as the recipe states...I was in mincing mode and mine were not big enough. Hopefully next time mine will look more like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States