Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
okay, this was great! so fresh, i used corn from the local farmers market. buuuuut i thought it was a typo when the recipe said one tbl of cumin. whoa! it was way too much! thats the only thing i would change....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea.rio
Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Wow, this was spicy!! Even my husband who LOVES spicy things thought that it was a little too much. Next time I make it I will cut down a bit on the crushed red pepper and that should help. We did like it for the most part though, thanks for the recipe, Cari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Awesome the way it is! I did try with drained black beans which was excellent and usually cheat on the corn and do canned. I back off the onion just a tad but that's just personal preference. Try with some green onion too if you feel so inclined. Serve with chips or this is really an excellent side with grilled fish. THX CARI! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great, unexpected dish for a summer barbeque. Jumped from four stars to five when I omitted cumin, doubled the cilantro, and used one large avocado instead of two. Make sure to prepare and add the avocado just before serving to prevent browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wonderful flavors! I couldn't find fresh corn so used frozen, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was Awesome!!! Someone referred to it as Cowboy Caviar, and I thought that it was fitting. I did make a few adjustments based on what I had on hand. 1. 1/2 of a Red Onion was enough for my taste. 2. I added 1 Red and 1 Yellow bell pepper. 3. I roasted the corn on the grill first. 4. Added 3 Large tomatoes and 3 Avocados and the juice of one lime. 5. Increased the Crushed red pepper, cumin and cilantro by 1 & 1/2 times.... It makes a larger quantity and was delicious. I went home with an empty bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Excellent! I have made this recipe every weekend since l discovered it 8 weeks ago! I think fresh corn is a must have. Everybody loves this recipe and it doesn't last long and l didn't need to adjust any ingredients. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I bbqed the corn. Grilled on medium until it was a little brown. Used hald the cumin. Added drained black beans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Love this! Not only is it good as a salsa, but I also will add a can of black beans (rinsed and drained) and put it in a whole wheat tortilla for lunch! Awesome, and it's even better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj1384

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
this has become a staple and is always a hit. i make a couple changes: most importantly, a jalapeno or two instead of red pepper flakes. the fresh jalapeno taste is amazing. also, i only put in 1/2 red onion, use 4 ears of corn, 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar. so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marla
Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States