Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The red wine vinegar overpowers the sweet, natural corn taste and makes it all vinegary. This recipe is fine without the vinegar, although honestly I am not a fan of cumin or oregano in a veggie mix like this either. I'd rather let the natural, strong flavors of sweet corn, red bell pepper, and red onion carry the dish. Another thing to note: the liquids made the avocado smooshy and that particular taste got completely lost with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
So yummy!!! I was in a hurry and added canned corn instead of fresh and also threw in a very small tomato. My company gobbled it down and I will reuse this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Good, but I used frozen corn - fresh from the cob would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I found the vinegar to be overpowering, the cumin too strong, and thought the flavors just did not go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellent! My husband ate if for 3 days straight. This has become a go-to recipe for an easy dish during football weekends and parties. It's so easy to make, particularly when using canned corn, and is so popular that it's hard to pass it over. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a cool, light appetizer. It carries a bit of a kick so if that's not your thing, cut back on the red pepper a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I love this receipe. It is always a big hit at any party. I add a can of black beans and use a can of corn rather then fresh and it is still awesome. It is the right combination of ingredients. My son loves it who doesn't normally eat onions and avocadoes. It is a great recipe to get your kids to eat their vegtables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
My avocados were too ripe so the consistency was a little more like guacamole than salsa but it was a huge hit and fun to make! I tripled the recipe and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Bontempo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Yummmm left off the cumin and red pepper flakes, used half the onion, added a tomato, and half a green pepper. Served with fish.... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apjuice
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Absolutely a hit at our house! Instead of red pepper flakes I either use Chipotle or Adobo chili powder (it creates a great smoky flavor with a kick), and I used a mix of red, orange & yellow peppers....it's even better the next few days (if it lasts that long)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is wonderful! I made it for a BBQ and brought it for my boyfriend's family. Everyone loved it and not a bit was left. I added a few small tomatoes for some pretty color and extra yumminess, but I followed everything else the exact same. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Joy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States