Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
LOL! The directions still say oregano. I love this recipe..WITH cilantro. Ha! This is great over chicken breast or in a green salad. Way too addicting with just chips. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I make this every holiday season, I love it and my friends always ask for it. One tip that will make this so much easier for you: Trader Joe's Roasted Corn, in the frozen section. So much faster! I usually put in only 1/2 an onion, reduce the vinegar to 1 tbsp of red wine and 1 tbsp of balsamic, and add cumin until I can taste it. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This has quickly become a favorite recipe for us. We use it as a dip, as a taco filling (on its own or with meat or fish), as a side or even as a main (with the addition of some black beans). For the corn, I've used grilled corn on the cob as well as frozen corn. For the latter, I'll often cook it in a little water in a skillet then let the water boil off and the corn blacken a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is an excellent salsa. Took it to a church picnic and it was eaten up ! Got many requests for the recipe. I cut the onion amount in half (looked like too much at the time) but it would have been fine with it. Will make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohio Cook Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This recipe is a keeper. We initially ate it with tortilla chips but I ended up just adding a bit to my salads and it really added an extra bite to an ordinary salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The red wine vinegar overpowers the sweet, natural corn taste and makes it all vinegary. This recipe is fine without the vinegar, although honestly I am not a fan of cumin or oregano in a veggie mix like this either. I'd rather let the natural, strong flavors of sweet corn, red bell pepper, and red onion carry the dish. Another thing to note: the liquids made the avocado smooshy and that particular taste got completely lost with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
So yummy!!! I was in a hurry and added canned corn instead of fresh and also threw in a very small tomato. My company gobbled it down and I will reuse this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Good, but I used frozen corn - fresh from the cob would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I found the vinegar to be overpowering, the cumin too strong, and thought the flavors just did not go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellent! My husband ate if for 3 days straight. This has become a go-to recipe for an easy dish during football weekends and parties. It's so easy to make, particularly when using canned corn, and is so popular that it's hard to pass it over. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a cool, light appetizer. It carries a bit of a kick so if that's not your thing, cut back on the red pepper a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States