Corn and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Nice and different when you don't feel like your regular old salad. I served it with a bit of pesto pasta and ciabatta on the side, and it was a great summer lunch. However, I had to make some changes. I had to use a yellow pepper instead of a red one, and that with the corn made it look like a yellow mess on lettuce. I would definitely go for the red next time. Also dicovered too late that I had no honey, added a bit of sugar trying to fix it, but I'm sure it wasn't the same. And finally, the recipe doesn't say so, but it would be nice to chill it for a bit before serving. I'll make this again, and try to follow the recipe more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Recipe was very good. Other than adding some tomatoes, I followed the recipe as is. Salad dressing a tad too sweet - would use 1/2 the honey next time. Also, the corn, avocado, peppers, bacaon, etc. were very "heavy" and made their way down to the bottom of the salad bowl - next time I will arrange the salad on individual salad plates and drizzle the salad dressing on top for a more appealing and dramatic look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
So yummy! I added tomatoes to my salad. Oooh, but the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Mary, This was so good!!! Quick and easy also...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was really good. I roasted my corn on the grill brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt first. Also added cucumber. I'm surprised not more people have tried and rated with recipe. Great summer salad. Dressing was unbelievably good. Not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Great salad! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Nice salad! I used baby corn and romaine. I thought I had regular corn and was mistaken - will try that next time, but enjoyed it fine with baby corn, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was good,anything with avocado is good,but it seem to me it needs something but I don't know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Pretty good, but, given my "tweaks," I thought it only fair to give this recipe only four stars as written. Rather than use prepared/commercial dressings, I used a quarter-cup each of olive oil and wine vinegar ... and three tablespoons of crumbled bleu cheese. I also used half of the called-for bacon; just didn't think it needed all eight slices. I also eliminated the lettuce altogether and added a diced tomato and a diced cucumber. This will be my lunch at the office next week. Oh ... and, perhaps because of my cutting back on the bacon and eliminating the bottled dressings, I found the final salad benefited by the addition of healthy pinch of Kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Left out the bacon. For the dressing I used some balsamic vinegar, EVOO and 3-cheese Ranch dressing in the dressing portion. This would be great if you did the corn on the BBQ first before cutting it off the cob. I think this makes way more than 4 servings, and so we couldn't keep the leftovers because the avocados were brown and mushed up with everything. Still good though, will just make less of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States