Coriander Tabbouleh Salad with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Huge picnic hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
What I like most about this recipe is the unusual addition of shrimp to the salad. This is the first time I have seen shrimp in a tabbouleh salad, and I found it a fresh addition. It provided another layer of texture as shrimp as a "to the bite" feel to it. While parsley plays a big role in this salad, I am not a huge fan of it, and as such that element was not my favourite part. Overall, I did enjoy this recipe, but I did note that its a salad that needs to be consumed within a day or two as the bulgar tends to take on a goopy consistency when it marinates with the other ingredients for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I wish I could give this 6 stars. The cucumber was a nice change from tomato. The different fresh flavors of the herbs and ginger blend well but are distinctly different. I can't say enough good things about this salad. Everyone who tires it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jann Rowe
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I was searching for a tabbouleh recipe to correspond with my Low GI Diet menu item, so I used this one, mixed with with a Chickpea Fallafel recipe and put in flat bread - I thought it was great! My husband wasn't thrilled...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jann Rowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parrsboro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe to serve for a special luncheon or dinner. The flavors mingle nicely and are refreshing. We like to serve it with a little plain yogurt on the side. Cilantro makes a nice substitute for the parsley, if you prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Best recipe for tabbouleh i know of... i dont really think the large shrimp are really necessary, and it might actually be better with more bite-size shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very nice, I used more shrimp than called for and it was better the second day. A little more citrus wouldn't hurt, lime or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I could not wait to write a review for this tabbouleh salad. This is the first time I have even tried to make this salad. I followed the receipe only adding a little more lemon juice to my taste. Instead of shrimp I cooked salmon on the grill and layed it on top of the tabbouleh. Warm French bread and you have a fantastic meal. Wow! Sensational! The combination of flavors is outstanding. This is a keeper and I can't wait for my friends to try it. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was good tabbouleh but I was disappointed. It just tasted like regular tabbouleh with shrimp thrown in. I was hoping the seasonings would make the recipe more unique. I wish I could give it 3.5 stars. I always enjoy tabbouleh, though, so it gets 4. It's just not as original as I'd hoped. Still yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, and have loved it both times. The second time I had so quintuple the recipe for a shower, and it worked out quite nicely - ridiculous amount of chopping though. Neither times have I used shrimp, and neither times has it been missed. I found it really important to make sure that the bulgur has absorbed all the water, and has become dry and fluffy before you add it to the tabbolueh - otherwise you get this gross water at the bottom of the bowl. I think it's better to just cook the tabbouleh on the stove instead of pouring hot water over it as the recipe said. Also, I prefer using 1 cup bulgur to 1.25 cups water. Feta and tomatoes are a natural addition. I served it with hummus and pita, and it was a huge hit. The portions given here are verrrry generous. Make it as it says, and you'll be eating it for a week. Which is good. Because it's good. That's it. Done now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States