Coriander Tabbouleh Salad with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Made bulgur as directed on package. Everything else exactly the same as directed in original recipe.... was excellent!!! Did add tomatoes as well as cucumbers. This salad would've been even more out of this world if I only had feta crumbles. This was my first time ever enjoying/making tabbouleh and I'm going to make this salad again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Um.... no. Will never make this again. This was VERY boring. I did leave out the cucumber and shrimp. However, that isn't what made it boring, because I never put the cucumber in anyway. And the shrimp was more "on the side" and not really an integral part of the tabbouleh itself, and is also not a typical ingredient, so that wasn't it. I have to imagine that either the coriander and ginger did something to it (though I didn't directly taste those), or perhaps I missed the tomatoes. Too little olive oil. I don't know. I don't love tabbouleh, but I like it, and this just wasn't it. Also, it doesn't need cooked on the stove - it needs a proper amount of water and a proper soaking time. Max water should've been 2 cups. No way is that soaking up that kind of water in 15-20 minutes! Most recipes say 30 and sometimes it can take as long as 45 minutes. At 45 minutes it was still wet and gross on the bottom, so I left it longer, and still ended up trying to drain a bit off. I tried adding some lime juice, then more lemon juice (which I had to offset with some sugar), more pepper. Finally I just added some balsamic vinegar to try to give it some kick and that helped. Then for the heck of it, I added some tuna and greatly salted individual servings, and then it was finally - decent. I try to save 1's for inedible and this only barely got the 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
4 stars because the bulgur did not cook just by pouring boiling water over it. I put it back into the pot after it had soaked for 45 min and cooked the water off. Result was a bit sticky but didn't bother me. (I'd cook it on the stove from now on.) The flavor was wonderful! I used fresh coriander instead of parsley and it was great! I also used smaller shrimp as suggested and tossed them through. It is best cold IMHO but delicious no matter when you eat it! Could basically use any veggie you've got on hand but the cucumber is a must! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, and have loved it both times. The second time I had so quintuple the recipe for a shower, and it worked out quite nicely - ridiculous amount of chopping though. Neither times have I used shrimp, and neither times has it been missed. I found it really important to make sure that the bulgur has absorbed all the water, and has become dry and fluffy before you add it to the tabbolueh - otherwise you get this gross water at the bottom of the bowl. I think it's better to just cook the tabbouleh on the stove instead of pouring hot water over it as the recipe said. Also, I prefer using 1 cup bulgur to 1.25 cups water. Feta and tomatoes are a natural addition. I served it with hummus and pita, and it was a huge hit. The portions given here are verrrry generous. Make it as it says, and you'll be eating it for a week. Which is good. Because it's good. That's it. Done now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was good tabbouleh but I was disappointed. It just tasted like regular tabbouleh with shrimp thrown in. I was hoping the seasonings would make the recipe more unique. I wish I could give it 3.5 stars. I always enjoy tabbouleh, though, so it gets 4. It's just not as original as I'd hoped. Still yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I could not wait to write a review for this tabbouleh salad. This is the first time I have even tried to make this salad. I followed the receipe only adding a little more lemon juice to my taste. Instead of shrimp I cooked salmon on the grill and layed it on top of the tabbouleh. Warm French bread and you have a fantastic meal. Wow! Sensational! The combination of flavors is outstanding. This is a keeper and I can't wait for my friends to try it. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very nice, I used more shrimp than called for and it was better the second day. A little more citrus wouldn't hurt, lime or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Best recipe for tabbouleh i know of... i dont really think the large shrimp are really necessary, and it might actually be better with more bite-size shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe to serve for a special luncheon or dinner. The flavors mingle nicely and are refreshing. We like to serve it with a little plain yogurt on the side. Cilantro makes a nice substitute for the parsley, if you prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jann Rowe
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I was searching for a tabbouleh recipe to correspond with my Low GI Diet menu item, so I used this one, mixed with with a Chickpea Fallafel recipe and put in flat bread - I thought it was great! My husband wasn't thrilled...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jann Rowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parrsboro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States