Coriander, Barley, Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I am giving this delicious soup 5 stars even though I changed it somewhat. Used chicken stock instead of beef as I don't use beef. Did not have enough barley so used half barley and half brown rice, which worked just fine. I used 1 T. of coriander and 1/2 cup of rice wine vinegar, thinking I could add more of each if needed but was so good I stopped at that amount. Great soup, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was delicious, all I changed (only b/c of lack of ingredients) was that I added 3 hot Italian Sausages because I only had 10 oz of Turkey and I added 2 1/4 C + 1/4 white vinegar as I didn't have any Chinese Rice Wine. My 4 year old thought it was delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yuck. I'm sad that I used so many ingredients. I could only eat a half a bowl. I think it could've been a good soup if the rice wine had been left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used Japanese rice wine instead of Chinese. I'm sure it makes for a different flavor but we did like the soup. I was worried with all the leek and onion that it would be too strong but surprisingly it wasn't. My husband said the coriander was strong and I thought the sake was strong. We might make this one again, it was fun trying something unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
it wasn't too bad......way too much rice wine vinegar. I put a fourth of the suggested amount and still tasted way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster25
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
For such simple ingredients, this was very flavorful. I omitted the turkey and used veg broth, and I halved the broth, rice wine (I used sake), and coriander. Nice and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Substituted good sake for the Chinese rice wine, and used 1 c sake and 1/2 c rice wine vinegar, and ground pork instead of ground turkey. OMG it is SO GOOD. Housemate loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Super easy recipe. I used sausage instead of ground turkey and it came out rich and delicious. I didn't have the rice wine and I don't think the dish missed it. This is just a basic arrangement of classic flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States