Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was born and raised in Puerto Rico but have been away for much too long. My mother still makes her coquito which we get from an old family cook book. My mother left us for the holidays this year and went to Puerto Rico without any coquito :( So, I decided that it was time to make my own. I found this recipe and started reading the reviews. All I can say is thank you soooo soooo soooo much! This is the best, and I do mean best coquito I've ever had (better than mami's)!!! I did a couple of my improvisations but wow, again THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebaleo7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Exactly as Remembered, I made this for my Dad, for Christmas & New Years. It was amazing, the Memories, my dad, said it needed more Rum, even though I add 1/2 cup more Dark Rum. Its was just wonderful and full of Puerto Rican Tradition. 10 Stars, thank for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe and a lot easier than grating and straining real coconut. The only change I made was to add a pinch of nutmeg and replaced the white rum with spiced rum. I used the double boiler but I agree that it was not necessary, you just have to be more mindful of the mixture as you're heating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this to bring to Christmas Day dinner at my in-laws and the whole family raved about it! They are all PuertoRican and said it was the best they've had. (It was a great bonding moment for us!!!) The only ajustments I made were I cooked it straight on the stove, I added some nutmeg and i used 1/2 cup of spiced rum as well as the white rum. Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah'sMom930

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good, but very sweet - needs some more rum (to taste). Also, it tastes better after sitting for a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thank you so much! This was a major hit at my work...(probably shouldn't have brought it to work) but everyone loved it! I made another batch for Noche bueno!! I boiled the ev. milk and eggs in a smaller pot over a bigger pot filled with water. Thank you so much! I love the puerto rican culture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Extremely good. This is how coquito is supposed to taste. I asked my grandmother for her recipe and then I couldn't find it. This one is pretty much the same except mi abuela doesn't cook the eggs AND she puts A LOT more liquor...too much I think. You can add more to this but too much takes away from the wonderful flavors. ENJOY and Merry CHRISTmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyncooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely love this stuff! Is a touch on the sweet side too, but still very good. I did do a couple of things differently though. First of all, I couldn’t find any cream of coconut so I substituted a can of the sweetened condensed milk and 1 tsp coconut extract for that. Secondly, I didn’t add any rum because my son may want to drink some. So I may add a bit to a glass I have later. And not just any rum, I will try Malibu coconut rum. After it was done in the blender I put it in some cleaned out wine bottles and set them outside for a couple of hours. They ended up freezing (because it’s 30 below today) but thawed in a short period of time. Will definitely make this again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made a big batch of this for our christmas party and it was a hit. I only used three eggs and didn't even cook them. I beat them with some of the milk and presto! I mixed it in separate batches in my blender. I used to have my own recipe for coquito, but I am putting it to rest. Thank you Brandy for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Bahama Mama

Nothing says summer like this delicious adult drink!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States