Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely love this stuff! Is a touch on the sweet side too, but still very good. I did do a couple of things differently though. First of all, I couldn’t find any cream of coconut so I substituted a can of the sweetened condensed milk and 1 tsp coconut extract for that. Secondly, I didn’t add any rum because my son may want to drink some. So I may add a bit to a glass I have later. And not just any rum, I will try Malibu coconut rum. After it was done in the blender I put it in some cleaned out wine bottles and set them outside for a couple of hours. They ended up freezing (because it’s 30 below today) but thawed in a short period of time. Will definitely make this again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made a big batch of this for our christmas party and it was a hit. I only used three eggs and didn't even cook them. I beat them with some of the milk and presto! I mixed it in separate batches in my blender. I used to have my own recipe for coquito, but I am putting it to rest. Thank you Brandy for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I brought this recipe to a friend's house, and everyone loved it. I made a virgin version for the kids, and added a little extra rum for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I don't drink, so I made this drink, omitted the alcohol and I loved it. For my husband who is a social drinker, I added 1-2 tsp. of vanilla rum to his glass and man, he drank the rest of the pitcher....lol. After this, I made another batch and he took it to a few of our neighbors to sample it and came back empty handed!!!! This is now our holiday drink of choice and will be for years to come. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYMPLES805

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is d**n good. I've had three glasses and still haven't had enough. I cooked mine in a double boiler, to keep it from scorching. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the best, the very best drink I have found. It was a hit at Thanksgiving, and it is a keeper. Can't wait for the next occasion to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobridge, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Perfect! I couldnt even wait for it to chill over night. I had it slightly warm and it was still awesome. I cant wait to try tomorrow morning. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Millie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I also add star anise to he spices. Simply boil the star anise and cinnamon stick in water (1/3 to 1/4 cup). let cool down and add to mixture. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PriscilaC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Holy Cow was this recipe a hit!!! Awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was my first attempt and first time drinking homemade eggnog. Personally I found there was a little to much cinnamon but other then that it was good. I tried it at different stages too, right when it was done when it was still warm, after being in the fridge for a few hours and over night and I prefer it warm. I didn't add the rum though because I want my 3 and 1yrs old to drink it too. It was good and relatively easy to make using just a regular pan on low but I don't think I will make it again. Pretty costly concidering you can buy a 2L of store eggnog for 2$ and to make this it cost about 5$. It was good though and I enjoyed making it and drinking it, but I'll stick with store bought for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States