Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
YUMMY! I used 8 egg yolks, 7 cans evaporated milk, 4 cans cream of coconut, 4 cans sweetened condensed milk, no water, 2+ cups Captain Morgan's Parrot Bay Rum (it's Puerto Rican coconut rum...adds a little more coconut flavor to the cream de coco), 1 tsp cloves, 2 tsp cinnamon and 4 tsp vanilla. I didn't use a double boiler, just a large stock pot and warmed it slowly while stirring it almost constantly and using a candy thermometer to see when it got to 160 degrees. Then I just blended the eggnog in 4 batches, so I added the cloves, cinnamon, vanilla and rum in the measurements stated on the recipe, which would add up to the measurements I gave at the beginning of the review. I ended up with about a gallon and a half, there was a little more but I had to use that for a couple of taste tests!! This is the first time I have made eggnog and I chose this because my boyfriend is Puerto Rican. He can't wait to get home from work to try it and I can't wait to serve it tomorrow night at our family's Christmas dinner! This is DEFINITELY a keeper! THANK YOU, BRANDY!! ... *Update* ...The next morning after it had cooled in the fridge, it was pretty thick. We tasted it and decided to add more rum (we like drinks strong). We just added a little at a time until it was the right consistency. It was a HUGE hit at Christmas dinner! Even people who don't normally drink eggnog loved it! 12/24/08- Update again. I made this yesterday for Christmas tomorrow and it's incredible! I didn'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
QUE RICO!! The best coquito i've ever had! I didn't use a double boiler, just cooked the beaten yolks and evap. milk on medium heat until it thickened. 1/2 cup of rum is enough for my taste but i know some of my friends will likely want to add some more to it. Brandy, your recipe is the best and now it is my recipe too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Remember that Rum/alcohol in any drink is always to taste. My sister is a wimp so I reduced the alcohol to suit any taste. U can always add more!!! I make mine with more rum but not everyone like alcohol like some of us do and therefore the water. Those who think this is sweet should not be searching for eggnog!!! I am puertorican so don't let my name fool u. Anything other than coconut flavor is NOT coquito :p. this is my recipe and it was changed by all recipes to use a double boiler. You don't need to in my opinion as long as the eggs are fresh. Instead of plain water I sometimes use coconut milk if I have it on hand. Coconut water will make it a bit salty do coconut milk instead of water is recommended. You still need the coconut cream do don't confuse the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Really good recipe. I use this recipe when I have the time, but I have since found a pre-mixed Coquito called Mi Abuela that is extremely close to homemade. I bought it at Big 3 Wine & Liquor in the Bronx on E. Tremont Ave. If you don't have time to make your own, or want a back up, definitely check it out. I know this may not be useful info to members of a site like "all recipes", but just wanted to share it just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I am born and raised in Puerto Rico and this recipe really reminds me of the sweet, creamy coquito that I drank as a child. Gave this to all my friends last year and they all loved it. Mind you they are all from all over the world. This year am even making labels for my bottles and giving them as Christmas presents... This recipe deserves a 10 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is the perfect coquito! I'm Latina, and this is a huge hit with my husband's Italian and Irish family--never have leftovers. I get requests for it every holiday. We don't even bother with eggnog anymore. I don't make any changes to the recipe, other than cooking it in a regular pot instead of a double broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I did a test run as is, then I made it again, tweaking it a bit--since I'm Puerto Rican I had this every Christmas just never had a recipe for it TILL NOW!! I used Barcardi Gold Rum, 1/4 teaspoon ground clover and 1 c. rum--everything else the same. I rinse out wine bottles and with a funnel pour it in bottle & cork it, when ready to drink I shake well, pour and ENJOY it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Made this for New Years with my Costa Rican in-laws. Everyone but my husband (picky, picky man) loved it. I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut (and eliminated the water). I thought it might not be sweet enough, but it turned out just right for me. And I also used nutmeg instead of cloves. I may try the cloves next time. I made an "unleaded" version for my teetotaller relatives. They raved too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
when making a traditional Coquito, you dont use coconut cream thats a short cut and you can taste the difference at the end product. What you suppose to do is grind the coconut add the evaperate milk and squeeze the coconut milk out the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this Coquito again this year. I'm Puerto Rican and it is true to it's name. Last year I didn't broil this but there is a reason to broil this recipe. Since it has eggs it is the safest way to make. I added 1/4 tsp of vanilla and more rum to my taste and it still came out delicious. This is a great recipe. Thank you for sharing. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States