Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Coquito is the best!!!!! I've been a part of the hidden Coquito movement, but is too good to let everyone else drink it ;) so if you don't want to get to this point, make enough for everyone and more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA-PR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Great recipe. Made it 3 times and my wife drank most of it. You truly have to hide it in the back of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Yum! It's been a hit at all the parties this year. The taste is just like I remember it growing up! However, after a couple of difficult tries cooking the eggs and milk in the boiling water, I decided to cook them in a medium sauce pan and it was a lot easier. The small change didn't compromise the flavor at all and it seemed to be even creamier. I also made it without water after a couple of tries. I've made a lot of it this holiday season!!! Perfect for gifts to neighbors and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I thought this receipe was great.. It was thick and sweet.I also used a medium saucepan. It didn't seem to make a difference. If you like a stronger taste of rum I suggest a little bit more... Def taste it as you go.. Great Recipe Brandy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Remember that Rum/alcohol in any drink is always to taste. My sister is a wimp so I reduced the alcohol to suit any taste. U can always add more!!! I make mine with more rum but not everyone like alcohol like some of us do and therefore the water. Those who think this is sweet should not be searching for eggnog!!! I am puertorican so don't let my name fool u. Anything other than coconut flavor is NOT coquito :p. this is my recipe and it was changed by all recipes to use a double boiler. You don't need to in my opinion as long as the eggs are fresh. Instead of plain water I sometimes use coconut milk if I have it on hand. Coconut water will make it a bit salty do coconut milk instead of water is recommended. You still need the coconut cream do don't confuse the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Fantastic! Didn't bother with the double boiler, I made it in a saucepan just like my mother used to and it was great. Tastes just like my mother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Coquito has been a traditional Puerto Rican favorite for the holidays (Christmas and especially New Year's) for many years in my family. It is unbelievable and everyone who tries it loves it. Traditionally, it is made with raw eggs though and I am leary to try cooking it, but maybe I'll try that if I become pregnant again and concerned about raw eggs. Generally, if you are not pregnant, you can just make sure that you buy fresh eggs and make it just 2+ hours ahead of time (and chilling it for 1-2 hours before serving). Thanks for the recipe, I have never seen it with cloves before and may just try adding that to mine next year. (I'll keep that out this year as usual).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
As I was making this at home, I poured myself a couple glasses for, um, tasting purposes. I called this my "happy drink" because I certainly was very happy after drinking it. The only reason I am giving this 5 stars is because allrecipes.com doesn't have the ability to give any recipe SEVEN stars. I searched multiple sites for a good coquito recipe ever since I tasted what my ex-girlfriend made for me last Xmas (and she wasn't giving up her secret). I made 4 different recipes and this was by far the best. I made 3 bottles of coquito and shared it with friends, my boss and co-workers. Great, great stuff. I don't think I'll ever go back to regular eggnog again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Awesome recipe !! I made this for new years eve and was wonderful !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Made this for New Years with my Costa Rican in-laws. Everyone but my husband (picky, picky man) loved it. I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut (and eliminated the water). I thought it might not be sweet enough, but it turned out just right for me. And I also used nutmeg instead of cloves. I may try the cloves next time. I made an "unleaded" version for my teetotaller relatives. They raved too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States