Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Que rico! Gracias a ti, Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is delicious...I followed the directions as stated - I used a double boiler and I didn't have any problem with the eggs - well worth the effort. I used Capt. Morgan's Parrot Bay Coconut Rum for the alcohol. The Coquito is sweet, but I think it is the perfect combination of sweet w/ the spices, and it has a very nice consistency. I only made one batch, however, in the future I will double it, and if I was serving it for Christmas, etc. I would quadruple it -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this recipe December of 2007. I was a big hit...the best coquito that I have ever tasted. This December 2008 I still had some left over. It was just as good or better than when it was first made. I think the reason that it kept so well was because I didn't use the eggs raw. To people who choose to use raw eggs be careful because of salmonella bacteria. Enjoy the coquito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COQUI1945
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Really good recipe. I use this recipe when I have the time, but I have since found a pre-mixed Coquito called Mi Abuela that is extremely close to homemade. I bought it at Big 3 Wine & Liquor in the Bronx on E. Tremont Ave. If you don't have time to make your own, or want a back up, definitely check it out. I know this may not be useful info to members of a site like "all recipes", but just wanted to share it just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I did a test run as is, then I made it again, tweaking it a bit--since I'm Puerto Rican I had this every Christmas just never had a recipe for it TILL NOW!! I used Barcardi Gold Rum, 1/4 teaspoon ground clover and 1 c. rum--everything else the same. I rinse out wine bottles and with a funnel pour it in bottle & cork it, when ready to drink I shake well, pour and ENJOY it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I,ve just taste it, and its wonderful! This is the recipe I'm taking to my family this X-mas in Connecticut. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was way too sweet for me but my hubby loved it. I also had a problem with the mixture getting too thick to pour. After I got it out I reblended it and it was fine. I think it's best in small doses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
ABSOLUTLEY A-W-E-S-O-M-E.....This is the best I have ever tasted. We did put coconut rum instead of regular. It really adds more of a carribean flavor. My husband and I kept tasting as we were bottling YUUUMMMM. Our holiday guests wanted more and more...A must try recipe that will be a holiday favorite always!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Very good. I don't like it too thick so just in case I used the coconut milk, then I thought it was too thin...that's what I get for changing the original recipe. Great flavor either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is the perfect coquito! I'm Latina, and this is a huge hit with my husband's Italian and Irish family--never have leftovers. I get requests for it every holiday. We don't even bother with eggnog anymore. I don't make any changes to the recipe, other than cooking it in a regular pot instead of a double broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States