Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This coquito recipe is quite tasty. Once you start drinking some it is difficult to put the glass down. Though I tripled the amount of rum. I felt as though 1/2 cup of rum is way too weak. I think adding a bit more rum gives it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was born and raised in Puerto Rico but have been away for much too long. My mother still makes her coquito which we get from an old family cook book. My mother left us for the holidays this year and went to Puerto Rico without any coquito :( So, I decided that it was time to make my own. I found this recipe and started reading the reviews. All I can say is thank you soooo soooo soooo much! This is the best, and I do mean best coquito I've ever had (better than mami's)!!! I did a couple of my improvisations but wow, again THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebaleo7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Exactly as Remembered, I made this for my Dad, for Christmas & New Years. It was amazing, the Memories, my dad, said it needed more Rum, even though I add 1/2 cup more Dark Rum. Its was just wonderful and full of Puerto Rican Tradition. 10 Stars, thank for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe and a lot easier than grating and straining real coconut. The only change I made was to add a pinch of nutmeg and replaced the white rum with spiced rum. I used the double boiler but I agree that it was not necessary, you just have to be more mindful of the mixture as you're heating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this to bring to Christmas Day dinner at my in-laws and the whole family raved about it! They are all PuertoRican and said it was the best they've had. (It was a great bonding moment for us!!!) The only ajustments I made were I cooked it straight on the stove, I added some nutmeg and i used 1/2 cup of spiced rum as well as the white rum. Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah'sMom930

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good, but very sweet - needs some more rum (to taste). Also, it tastes better after sitting for a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thank you so much! This was a major hit at my work...(probably shouldn't have brought it to work) but everyone loved it! I made another batch for Noche bueno!! I boiled the ev. milk and eggs in a smaller pot over a bigger pot filled with water. Thank you so much! I love the puerto rican culture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Extremely good. This is how coquito is supposed to taste. I asked my grandmother for her recipe and then I couldn't find it. This one is pretty much the same except mi abuela doesn't cook the eggs AND she puts A LOT more liquor...too much I think. You can add more to this but too much takes away from the wonderful flavors. ENJOY and Merry CHRISTmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyncooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States