Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I made this recipe for Christmas this year. My Latin neighbors liked my recipe better than their own. So, with that said, this recipe is the bomb! I made a double batch and every drop of it went. I had other guests...not just my neighbors. haha Didn't want you to think they drank it all. :o) I will make it again next year for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Made the recipe as listed with half light and half dark rum, and it was a bit too thick, and way too sweet for my taste. I added an extra can of evaporated milk, an extra half cup of dark rum, and an extra 1/4c water and it's now fantastic. I might try to substitute the coconut cream for coconut milk as some others have recommended. Otherwise, the recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yummy! I decided to try this for Christmas this year...a friend of mine makes a similar recipe every year, and she suggested I omit the nutmeg, and use coconut milk instead of the water. It was absolutely delicious! I'll be making this again, for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this for a friend who grew up in Puerto Rico and he loved it, said it reminded him of his childhood. He had another friend who made some for him this year too. She is from Puerto Rico and he said this recipe was better than hers, and so did many others. I give it five stars and two thumbs up for taste and ease of preparing. I made mine in the morning and kept it really cold until about and hour and half before serving. It really does taste best served at almost room temp and not over ice. I tried both ways and not ice cold is best, all the flavors shine. Remember this is a drink that originated from a time and place where ice was a premium and not readily available. Hope you enjoy as much as we did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I make this every Christmas, bottles and bottles of it. I give it as gifts and make it for my family as well. This recipe is perfect, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made a double batch of this and brought it to work on Christmas Eve. It was a hit! Co-workers came back for seconds and asked for the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was a hit! True Puerto Rican tasty Coquito. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was excellent, my Puerto Rican friend said she couldn't have made it any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I had never dared to make coquito because it sounded hard to make. I found this recipe december 2012. I read the ingredients but overlooked the directions. I didn't use water but crushed ice. It was delish. December 2013 I looked up the recipe onve more bevause I wasn't to sure if I remembered all the ingredients.....well I noticed your full instructions :-) but I loved it so much the first time skipping the boiler part and just blending everything together. I did add an extra ingredient of 14.oz can of leche de coco-milk of coconut. I love it even more! And this year I used malibu coconut to get that extra coconut flavor.....mu family, co-workers and friends love it! Thanks Brandy for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Really good recipe. Have made it 8 times since christmas. All 8 batches I have tweaked by substituting the water for coconut water and boiling the coconut water with the spices. The 1st 5 batches I made a mistake, noticed the mistake on batch 2 and figured why change it. If it ain't broken why fix it, right?! My mistake the 1st 5 times was that I cooked the eggs with the condensed milk instead of the evaporated milk, it came out delicious, smooth and creamy with a nice coconut taste. The alcohol didn't seem to be in there at first but after a few sips it sneaks up on ya which everyone seemed to like. Did I mention that they loved it?!!! Happy accident, right?! Since my family and friends are all on this coquito kick this holiday season I decided to make 3 more batches in preparation for coquito cupcakes and Cheesecakes Im making this wk for New Years celebration. Figured I cook the eggs with the evaporated milk like the recipe originally called for to see if it made an even better difference. Just tasted the new batches and it's just not the same. It's more of a texture thing, I think? I must add the alcohol is pretty obvious with these new batches unlike my 1st 5 batches. Going forward I'm convinced my happy mistake is a must. For the sake of using the coquito as an ingredient to bake with these new batches will work fine but as for drinking it I will definitely be going back to my happy mistake.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States