Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This dish explodes with marvoulous flavor. We enjoyed it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Fabulous flavour and took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Looks impressive and smells divine. Works great with sherry and a bit of worchestershire as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I give this a 5 for flavor and simplicity! It has a fabulous full flavor and is very aromatic while cooking. I will definately be making it again soon! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
excellent recipe any time... Pure French cooking at it's best... would work well over rice as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Easy and delicious. Instead of using non-stick spray I cooked the bacon in my iron skillet and drained most the grease and used a little to fry the chicken in. Not the most lowfat way to cook, but I think the extra calories were worth the taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This turned out fabulous! It was relatively easy to prepare. I made it for my book club and it was a hit! I did use thigh meat. My mom said thighs would stay moist better then breasts, and I now agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious!! It tastes so healthy instead of greasy and fattening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Finleyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe got rave reviews and second and third helpings. I made some changes per the other cook's suggestions and a little tweaking of my own. I used Pinot Noir wine, which was a divine accompaniment. I cooked an entire package of bacon instead of using bacon bits, and did the initial skillet-sautéing of the chicken in the bacon rendering. I used a combination of chicken breasts and thighs and was able to simmer longer, so that the chicken was exceptionally moist. I did not use the parsley, herbs or bouillon below b/c I was out and forgot to buy at the grocery. I did sprinkle some "Mrs. Dash", though. I did not do the roux (flour/water mix). The chicken meat was falling off the thigh bones. The flavor was incredible and I felt so sophisticated making Julia Child's famous dish! I did not serve on top of rice or noodles, which I think is better for this dish. I served a side of sweet potato soufflé and served Banana Caramel Fluff for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I substituted fresh veggies for the frozen/canned ones and it turned out fabulous! I made it for my roommate and my friend and they loved it! It's very rich, so I put it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe, a little complicated so better to save for a Sunday instead of a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States