Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Fabulous flavour and took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Looks impressive and smells divine. Works great with sherry and a bit of worchestershire as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This dish explodes with marvoulous flavor. We enjoyed it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I give this a 5 for flavor and simplicity! It has a fabulous full flavor and is very aromatic while cooking. I will definately be making it again soon! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
excellent recipe any time... Pure French cooking at it's best... would work well over rice as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Easy and delicious. Instead of using non-stick spray I cooked the bacon in my iron skillet and drained most the grease and used a little to fry the chicken in. Not the most lowfat way to cook, but I think the extra calories were worth the taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This turned out fabulous! It was relatively easy to prepare. I made it for my book club and it was a hit! I did use thigh meat. My mom said thighs would stay moist better then breasts, and I now agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious!! It tastes so healthy instead of greasy and fattening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Finleyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe got rave reviews and second and third helpings. I made some changes per the other cook's suggestions and a little tweaking of my own. I used Pinot Noir wine, which was a divine accompaniment. I cooked an entire package of bacon instead of using bacon bits, and did the initial skillet-sautéing of the chicken in the bacon rendering. I used a combination of chicken breasts and thighs and was able to simmer longer, so that the chicken was exceptionally moist. I did not use the parsley, herbs or bouillon below b/c I was out and forgot to buy at the grocery. I did sprinkle some "Mrs. Dash", though. I did not do the roux (flour/water mix). The chicken meat was falling off the thigh bones. The flavor was incredible and I felt so sophisticated making Julia Child's famous dish! I did not serve on top of rice or noodles, which I think is better for this dish. I served a side of sweet potato soufflé and served Banana Caramel Fluff for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I substituted fresh veggies for the frozen/canned ones and it turned out fabulous! I made it for my roommate and my friend and they loved it! It's very rich, so I put it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe, a little complicated so better to save for a Sunday instead of a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States