Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is not Coq Au Vin! It's chicken and wine but does not come close to capturing the depth of flavor and sophiscation of the classic French dish. The chicken was tough and dry, the sauce lacked the depth of flavor that makes this dish famous. If you are going to make Coq Au Vin, take the time to do it right and don't try to take a shortcut. You are cheating yourself of the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This dish made Julia Child famous. It is a mix of complex ingredients coming from simple foods -- use only the freshest ingredients for this dish. If you do not have a very large skillet, reduce the onions to 8 and the mushrooms to 8 as well. The bacon flavor is essential to this dish so I recommend frying a few pieces of bacon in place of the bacon bits. Use only a dry red wine that you would drink (and enjoy)-- I recommend a Pinot Noir for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Although I cook a lot, I've only made Coq au Vin twice and I was really looking forward to the taste. Sadly, it was a disappointment. It was too winey and the sauce had no depth. I would try adding a teaspoon or 2 of tomato paste if I tried this again. I probably won't because Emeril Lagasse's recipe is sooo much better, it's worth the extra few minutes of prep work! Thanks anyway, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forked River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Based on what I've eaten in restaurants I prepared this a bit differently, however this was a very good base. First of all, I fried up fresh bacon, removed it and then browned the chicken (which I seasoned with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders) in the bacon fat. I then removed the chicken, drained most of the fat, added flour, then sauteed the vegetables including garlic cloves. Once browned I added chicken broth, tomato paste and the seasonings and let it simmer for about a minute. I replaced the chicken the transfered it to my oven for about ninety minutes. Delicious dish Kelly and I thank you for a terrific start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Fabulous flavour and took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Looks impressive and smells divine. Works great with sherry and a bit of worchestershire as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I used a whole 4.5 pound chicken and put everything in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours. The chicken came out incredibly moist and flavorful! I highly reccomend the slow cooker method for anyone who doesn't have the time to make this on the stovetop and wants an easy meal. I made the sauce with some of the liquid from the slow cooker and just eyeballed how much flour and water to use to thicken the sauce. The flavor was incredible!! I served biscuits and salad with the dish and my family really liked everything. With the leftover chicken, my husband made risotto the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This dish explodes with marvoulous flavor. We enjoyed it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Thanks for a complete and exciting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lund, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a very tasty dish. My family enjoyed it, but then they all love burgundy wine. I, on the other hand, don't enjoy red wine, and was a little put off by the color of this dish. I suppose one should expect the chicken breasts to turn purple in this sauce.In spite of the disappointment in the color, this was a delicious dish.I probably won't make this again, but that is certainly no reflection on this recipe.Thanks Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I was told by a professional chef to put a handful of raisins into this dish for flavor. Also you might use a combination of white wine and port if you want something a little sweeter and grape-ier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States