Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This dish explodes with marvoulous flavor. We enjoyed it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This dish made Julia Child famous. It is a mix of complex ingredients coming from simple foods -- use only the freshest ingredients for this dish. If you do not have a very large skillet, reduce the onions to 8 and the mushrooms to 8 as well. The bacon flavor is essential to this dish so I recommend frying a few pieces of bacon in place of the bacon bits. Use only a dry red wine that you would drink (and enjoy)-- I recommend a Pinot Noir for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I give this a 5 for flavor and simplicity! It has a fabulous full flavor and is very aromatic while cooking. I will definately be making it again soon! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I was told by a professional chef to put a handful of raisins into this dish for flavor. Also you might use a combination of white wine and port if you want something a little sweeter and grape-ier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
excellent recipe any time... Pure French cooking at it's best... would work well over rice as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I used leg/thigh combo in the slow cooker. I also used regular chopped onions for pearl onions. My kids thought it was weird because of the color, but it had a very nice taste. Served over white rice. Very easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Easy and delicious. Instead of using non-stick spray I cooked the bacon in my iron skillet and drained most the grease and used a little to fry the chicken in. Not the most lowfat way to cook, but I think the extra calories were worth the taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was surprisingly bland! I even added more boullion than called for, and it still needed a LOT of salt. The veggies were the tastiest part, the chicken & sauce were blah. I guess if you make it using real bacon it would improve the salt level & taste better. Apparently there is no good shortcut for Coq au Vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Fabulous flavour and took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Looks impressive and smells divine. Works great with sherry and a bit of worchestershire as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a very tasty dish. My family enjoyed it, but then they all love burgundy wine. I, on the other hand, don't enjoy red wine, and was a little put off by the color of this dish. I suppose one should expect the chicken breasts to turn purple in this sauce.In spite of the disappointment in the color, this was a delicious dish.I probably won't make this again, but that is certainly no reflection on this recipe.Thanks Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States