Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This dish explodes with marvoulous flavor. We enjoyed it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This dish made Julia Child famous. It is a mix of complex ingredients coming from simple foods -- use only the freshest ingredients for this dish. If you do not have a very large skillet, reduce the onions to 8 and the mushrooms to 8 as well. The bacon flavor is essential to this dish so I recommend frying a few pieces of bacon in place of the bacon bits. Use only a dry red wine that you would drink (and enjoy)-- I recommend a Pinot Noir for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I give this a 5 for flavor and simplicity! It has a fabulous full flavor and is very aromatic while cooking. I will definately be making it again soon! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I was told by a professional chef to put a handful of raisins into this dish for flavor. Also you might use a combination of white wine and port if you want something a little sweeter and grape-ier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
excellent recipe any time... Pure French cooking at it's best... would work well over rice as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I used leg/thigh combo in the slow cooker. I also used regular chopped onions for pearl onions. My kids thought it was weird because of the color, but it had a very nice taste. Served over white rice. Very easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Easy and delicious. Instead of using non-stick spray I cooked the bacon in my iron skillet and drained most the grease and used a little to fry the chicken in. Not the most lowfat way to cook, but I think the extra calories were worth the taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was surprisingly bland! I even added more boullion than called for, and it still needed a LOT of salt. The veggies were the tastiest part, the chicken & sauce were blah. I guess if you make it using real bacon it would improve the salt level & taste better. Apparently there is no good shortcut for Coq au Vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Fabulous flavour and took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Looks impressive and smells divine. Works great with sherry and a bit of worchestershire as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a very tasty dish. My family enjoyed it, but then they all love burgundy wine. I, on the other hand, don't enjoy red wine, and was a little put off by the color of this dish. I suppose one should expect the chicken breasts to turn purple in this sauce.In spite of the disappointment in the color, this was a delicious dish.I probably won't make this again, but that is certainly no reflection on this recipe.Thanks Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States