Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Way too dry though I may have cooked it too long. Will try boneless thighs next time. However, really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This was terrible. I purchased a pricey bottle of wine to try this recipe and didn't like it at all. It was very bland. My hubby wouldn't even eat it. Waste of ingredients, will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Although I cook a lot, I've only made Coq au Vin twice and I was really looking forward to the taste. Sadly, it was a disappointment. It was too winey and the sauce had no depth. I would try adding a teaspoon or 2 of tomato paste if I tried this again. I probably won't because Emeril Lagasse's recipe is sooo much better, it's worth the extra few minutes of prep work! Thanks anyway, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe got rave reviews and second and third helpings. I made some changes per the other cook's suggestions and a little tweaking of my own. I used Pinot Noir wine, which was a divine accompaniment. I cooked an entire package of bacon instead of using bacon bits, and did the initial skillet-sautéing of the chicken in the bacon rendering. I used a combination of chicken breasts and thighs and was able to simmer longer, so that the chicken was exceptionally moist. I did not use the parsley, herbs or bouillon below b/c I was out and forgot to buy at the grocery. I did sprinkle some "Mrs. Dash", though. I did not do the roux (flour/water mix). The chicken meat was falling off the thigh bones. The flavor was incredible and I felt so sophisticated making Julia Child's famous dish! I did not serve on top of rice or noodles, which I think is better for this dish. I served a side of sweet potato soufflé and served Banana Caramel Fluff for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious!! It tastes so healthy instead of greasy and fattening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Finleyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
It was ok. A little bland but otherwise fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This turned out fabulous! It was relatively easy to prepare. I made it for my book club and it was a hit! I did use thigh meat. My mom said thighs would stay moist better then breasts, and I now agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a very tasty dish. My family enjoyed it, but then they all love burgundy wine. I, on the other hand, don't enjoy red wine, and was a little put off by the color of this dish. I suppose one should expect the chicken breasts to turn purple in this sauce.In spite of the disappointment in the color, this was a delicious dish.I probably won't make this again, but that is certainly no reflection on this recipe.Thanks Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Fabulous flavour and took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Looks impressive and smells divine. Works great with sherry and a bit of worchestershire as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was surprisingly bland! I even added more boullion than called for, and it still needed a LOT of salt. The veggies were the tastiest part, the chicken & sauce were blah. I guess if you make it using real bacon it would improve the salt level & taste better. Apparently there is no good shortcut for Coq au Vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States