Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I used a whole 4.5 pound chicken and put everything in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours. The chicken came out incredibly moist and flavorful! I highly reccomend the slow cooker method for anyone who doesn't have the time to make this on the stovetop and wants an easy meal. I made the sauce with some of the liquid from the slow cooker and just eyeballed how much flour and water to use to thicken the sauce. The flavor was incredible!! I served biscuits and salad with the dish and my family really liked everything. With the leftover chicken, my husband made risotto the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Easy to prepare and cook. Delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very good! I used real bacon chopped, 1 buillion cube, thicked sauce at end with a bit of cornstarch in a small amount of water. Served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Thanks for a complete and exciting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lund, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is not Coq Au Vin! It's chicken and wine but does not come close to capturing the depth of flavor and sophiscation of the classic French dish. The chicken was tough and dry, the sauce lacked the depth of flavor that makes this dish famous. If you are going to make Coq Au Vin, take the time to do it right and don't try to take a shortcut. You are cheating yourself of the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe, a little complicated so better to save for a Sunday instead of a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I substituted fresh veggies for the frozen/canned ones and it turned out fabulous! I made it for my roommate and my friend and they loved it! It's very rich, so I put it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I followed the recipe to a "T" and that was probably my mistake. The chicken breasts came out looking purple. Everything was off in this meal. I've tried several recipes from this site and so far this was my only bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Champs Fleurs, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Based on what I've eaten in restaurants I prepared this a bit differently, however this was a very good base. First of all, I fried up fresh bacon, removed it and then browned the chicken (which I seasoned with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders) in the bacon fat. I then removed the chicken, drained most of the fat, added flour, then sauteed the vegetables including garlic cloves. Once browned I added chicken broth, tomato paste and the seasonings and let it simmer for about a minute. I replaced the chicken the transfered it to my oven for about ninety minutes. Delicious dish Kelly and I thank you for a terrific start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Way too dry though I may have cooked it too long. Will try boneless thighs next time. However, really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States