Coq au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was disappointing. The only thing I changed was to use crumbled real bacon instead of bacon bits, and skinned leg quarters instead of boneless breasts. Certainly not what I expected from eating this dish in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I used a whole 4.5 pound chicken and put everything in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours. The chicken came out incredibly moist and flavorful! I highly reccomend the slow cooker method for anyone who doesn't have the time to make this on the stovetop and wants an easy meal. I made the sauce with some of the liquid from the slow cooker and just eyeballed how much flour and water to use to thicken the sauce. The flavor was incredible!! I served biscuits and salad with the dish and my family really liked everything. With the leftover chicken, my husband made risotto the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Easy to prepare and cook. Delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very good! I used real bacon chopped, 1 buillion cube, thicked sauce at end with a bit of cornstarch in a small amount of water. Served over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Thanks for a complete and exciting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lund, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is not Coq Au Vin! It's chicken and wine but does not come close to capturing the depth of flavor and sophiscation of the classic French dish. The chicken was tough and dry, the sauce lacked the depth of flavor that makes this dish famous. If you are going to make Coq Au Vin, take the time to do it right and don't try to take a shortcut. You are cheating yourself of the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe, a little complicated so better to save for a Sunday instead of a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I substituted fresh veggies for the frozen/canned ones and it turned out fabulous! I made it for my roommate and my friend and they loved it! It's very rich, so I put it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I followed the recipe to a "T" and that was probably my mistake. The chicken breasts came out looking purple. Everything was off in this meal. I've tried several recipes from this site and so far this was my only bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Champs Fleurs, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Based on what I've eaten in restaurants I prepared this a bit differently, however this was a very good base. First of all, I fried up fresh bacon, removed it and then browned the chicken (which I seasoned with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders) in the bacon fat. I then removed the chicken, drained most of the fat, added flour, then sauteed the vegetables including garlic cloves. Once browned I added chicken broth, tomato paste and the seasonings and let it simmer for about a minute. I replaced the chicken the transfered it to my oven for about ninety minutes. Delicious dish Kelly and I thank you for a terrific start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States