Coq Au Vin, My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Time consuming, yes, but worth the wait. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was absolutely amazing! I used half and half instead of heavy cream and added just a touch of flour instead of cornstarch but all in all was a huge hit! This will definitely be made again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I have made this dish several times now, and my family goes nuts every time. This is a very time-consuming dish, but if you get everything prepared ahead of time, it goes quite smoothly. We have tried it with both bone in and boneless thighs, and don't really have a preference. The boneless ones allow my teenage son to wolf it down faster, but I'm not sure that's a bonus! Don't be discouraged if it seems very difficult the first time you try it, just make a written list or a mental note of what is taking a long time that you could have prepared beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I used chicken breasts and I cooked the onions with the mushrooms. It was absolutely delicious! I will definitely be using this more often. Even my picky kiddos enjoyed it and asked for more. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
not our cup of tea, we can't help to compare it to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A fantastic and simple recipe - that captures the essence of Coq Au Vin. You can even replace the mushrooms with a can of cream of mushroom, if you are finicky about the texture of mushrooms. I used more Gruyere - and avoided the cornstarch altogether. As opposed to using a starch thickener... I just reduced it, and add more wine and cream. I also was more aggressive with the browning of the chicken....which led to a richer taste as the crisp skin balanced out the gruyere a bit. All in all a great and forgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was awesome! The sauce was so good I served over pasta to make sure I didn't waste any. I used chicken breasts that I pounded thin instead of thighs (I HATE chicken thighs!). I also used 1 can of stewed tomatoes since I didn't have any fresh. I cut the cream down to 3/4 of a cup and it was PERFECT. This was rich and filling and absolutely delicious, I will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Amazing! Followed recipe exactly, except I used chicken breasts and red wine as substitutes. Turned out great! I just finished the left overs for lunch and it tastes just as good today :) thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I left out the heavy cream and cheese based on some other reviews and more traditional coq au vin recipes. I also dredged the chicken in flour, salt and pepper. The end result was AMAZING! I only give 4 stars instead of 5 because I think the cream and cheese actually take away from the recipe rather than adding to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Rather than red, I wanted white and use 1/2 cup of Cabernet Sauvignon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States