Coq Au Vin, My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
best recipe i've ever tried (i haven't been trying my hand at cooking all that long) but it's still an AMAZING meal. tastes like you're a culinary expert, but really any schmo who is a shade above mediocre in the kitchen could handle this meal. tastes amazing. absolutely my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was a good start. I think bacon would be an excellent addition to this dish or a prosciutto to be more European. I used a smoked Gruyere cheese and that was nice I thought. I hated to drain all the liquid off of the chicken because then you also lose the spices you have added. I think next time, I would drain all the fat and just add some additional Italian seasoning to make up for it because the fat separated from the sauce and looked unappetizing. All in all an excellent and unique dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Outstanding! I made this while entertaining and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
LISTEN UP! This version of Coq Au Vin is AWESOME. I was excited about making it. Seasoned chicken with italian seasoning and put in skillet with olive oil and garlic. Added mushrooms (sliced) and fresh tomatoes and was surprised what a wonderful gravy this mixure produced. I used 1/2 cup of burgundy and let simmer. Transfered chicken to a cassorole dish and topped with about 1/2 cup of RED onion. Added cheese (1 cup) and cream to gravy OMG it smelled so good and about 1tsp of corn starch, Don't let the sauce get to thick pour over chicken and bake for 30 - the aroma from the kitchen filled the house. Served with garlic mashed potatoes (from this site) and steamed mixed veggies. My 9 yr old son ate like a 29yr old man LOL he couldn't get enough - My Hubby wants this dish in monthly rotation. THANKS CLWEST FOR SHARING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Delicious version of the Coq Au Vin! My family loved it and there were not leftovers! Will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Not at all what I think of as coq au vin. Stick with Julia Child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was delicious, lots of work. I used baby bellas instead of portabellas. The store I shop at only had huge bottles of burgundy, so I used a red wine I had on hand. The only thing was my sauce was a little runny. Which is strange since I added more cheese then what the recipe called for, I did use the cornstarch. Maybe I will increase the amount next time. It tasted great the next day as leftovers, I served mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie in training

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
It was good, but not to die for as I was hoping. For as much work as I put in I thought it would be so amazing I would want to eat it all myself before even serving. I possibly will make this again, just throw my own twist to it. thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYCROFT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
When I decided to try this recipe I already knew that it wasn't " coq au vin" - cream and cheese and tomatoes do not belong in that dish. But it looked interesting enough, so I gave it a go. Sadly, it just doesn't stand up to the classic. I missed the celery, the tomatoes did not add much, and I did not enjoy the combination of the cheese with the chicken. I think I will stick with a more traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorkAndPlay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
To die for! I don't even like chicken very much, and this was soooo good. I could have eaten a whole bowl of the sauce and mushrooms by themselves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Phyllis Jernigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States