Coq Au Vin, My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent, even my 5 year olds liked it! I used chicken thighs with skin as I thought it lent more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I can not say enough good things about this recipe!!!!!! I made it for my family and even my son, who HATES mushrooms, liked it and my mom loved it so much she actually licked the plate! ;) And don't be turned off by how long it takes to cook -- its actually very simple to put together, you just have to do a little something to it every now and then and it is WELL worth the AMAZING results!!! This was so good I'd like to make it regularly so plan to try the cheaper mushrooms (portabello's are expensive!), use chicken breasts instead of thighs (to try and cut some of the fat) and because there was a TON of extra sauce, next time I'll serve it over egg noodles. Is tomorrow too soon to try it again? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
We liked this a lot. Worth the extra time and effort. I added a bit more garlic b/c we like garlic. But other than that it was perfect. The chicken was not dry at all and very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I have made this dish several times and have tweaked it to our family's likings. Very good even with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I made this last night, and what's GREAT is that it's fairly simple. The only thing I might change is to use less of the heavy cream. The sauce / liquid that'd been simmering for hours (made up of the olive oil, red wine, garlic, spices, tomatoes and portabella) was delish, but when (per the instructions) I covered the dish in the heavy cream/gruyere sauce and baked it, I lost a lot of that flavor. I think this recipe is excellent - however - as a very simple base, and I would just add salt and the gruyere/cream mixture to taste / to your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
It does say Coq au vin " MY WAY". So I wasn't expecting a traditional recipe. That doesn't mean it's not good. It was fantastic! Best part about it is that my kids have celiac disease, and this is gluten free. No evil wheat flour. Awesome. Five stars for something tasty that we all can eat. Nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I thought this was fantastic - I could just drink the sauce and be happy. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEISDIVINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I followed this recipe pretty much as written, except I added a bit more cheese. It was good, but not spectacular. I'm not sure the attention it required was worth the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by cheddabizcuit
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the flavors were great, but the chicken was overcooked. It wasn't tender at all. If it had been, this would have been a 5 star recipe. The flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe was fabulous. It is a lot of work, but well worth it. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Jasem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States