Coq Au Vin, My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Didn't expect to like this because it is so NOT a true coq au vin. I was in a bind to make something interesting with limited ingredients available. I LOVED this. I had the chicken, onion and garlic but that was it. I used half merlot and half madeira and used canned tomatoes. Did not add the cream or gruyere. It was already very fatty (as a coq au vin should be anyway) so I don't think the cream and cheese are really necessary but I may try it! Served with mashed potatoes and garlic broccoli, though I also think it would be nice with rice. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I honestly didn't expect to like this. I can't stand mushrooms, but went by the book on this recipe anyway. My first bite I was completely shocked, the combination of flavors worked perfectly. The taste of mushroom blended right in, and even the mushrooms themselves weren't as foul tasting as I normally find them. I screwed up telling my daughter there were mushrooms in it, because she immediately stopped liking everything. I served with buttered noodles. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
In our new home in France, I wanted to serve last night's dinner guests a French meal and chose this recipe. Since the French traditionally marinate the chicken for 24 hours I did the same (in a 1/2 bottle of red wine, French herbs instead of Italian, garlic & minced onion). It was amazing. My English guests raved and had a second helping. The additional wine was needed for additional sauce to be sopped up with the fresh baguette I served with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IM14FUN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I'm sorry, for us this was just an ok pasta dish. A bit on the bland side and needing more sauce. Not bad, but I'll keep looking for a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used a pint of home-grown canned tomatoes (no salt) instead of fresh and that worked well. Also I added the onions with the wine stage to allow more cooking time. I did not drain off half the original liquid, because you can't have too much sauce. A definite remake in our house! Thanks CLWEST 47!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I used 6 boneless skinless thighs and two boneless breasts. I followed the recipe except I cooked everything on the stove. I didn't have the cheese but I don't think it needed to be in there. Delicious chicken. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I did change this slightly to reflect a healthier/lighter diet. I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs and mine were big, so I tenderized them slightly and cut them into fourths. I used my own homemade italian seasoning. After I browned the chicken, I then browned the garlic (I did increase the garlic to 4 large cloves) with the onion and mushrooms before adding the wine and cream. I cut the cream down to 1/4 of a cup and I used fat free half-n-half. That was all it really needed just to give it that flavor without too much extra calories. I folded in the chopped tomatoes and let the sauce reduce over medium high heat for about 20 minutes before pouring it over the chicken, which condensed the flavor and eliminated the need for the cornstarch. I served this with Out of the Hat Rice and steamed veggies. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Although not authentic, I thought this was an easy, tasty recipe. I made just minor changes: used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh; doubled the garlic; sauteed the onion along with the mushrooms; omitted the cheese. The leftover sauce was even delicious over noodles the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! It is my go-to recipe when I'm looking for something special to serve. Only thing I did different is to add the onion when I add the tomatoes and mushrooms. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was a hit with the family (6 of us). A definite keeper. I did some research and saw there are many variations, for example: red wine vs. white wine, and so on. Julia Childe had an interesting version...that's up next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Brian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States