Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great recipe. I love the combination of French and Italian. The result was a refined, subtle Coq Au Vin. The sauce was delicious and I served it with egg noodles. I only used 4 chicken thighs for the 2 of us, but I did keep the sauce serving the same as written. And it was perfect. I had a little bit of leftover sauce but I had to save it for a well deserved leftover dinner for one with spaghetti. Yum. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Flavor was good. Easy to make, my husband had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Did this recipe for the 2nd time and it was a hit again. Chicken is so moist and tender and the juices are great on mashed potatoes. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I forgot to use the sausage we had on hand, and instead of legs/thighs, I used tenderloins, and decreased the cooking time. It was great! This is definitely a keeper. We served it with bread and just ate it as-is. We used Chianti and that was delicious (both in the dish and in our glasses!) - I'll be making this again for sure, especially to use up veggies from our CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We thought this recipe was really good. I skinned and boned the thighs to make them easier to eat. They came out very tender and flavorful. A couple of small changes, I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I used salt and pepper with the flour. Didn't seem to make a difference. Didn't bother with the sausage either. Next time, I would use diced tomatoes, rather than whole, since I ended up crushing them down before adding them to the pan. Last, I took the cover off for the last 10 minutes of cooking time to get the sauce to thicken more. I served it over quinoa, but rice or cous cous would also work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS. SHOCKLEY
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was really, really wonderful. I used my largest skillet and took the chicken out while sauteing the sausage and veggies, then returned it before the tomatoes and wine. I ended up simmering about 45 minutes and then removed the chicken again for a couple minutes and added a Tbsp. of tomato paste to thicken the sauce a bit. Served it with bowtie pasta and crusty baguettes from a recipe on this site. I think next time I may put everything in a dutch oven or covered casserole and cook it in a slow oven for a couple hours. It would be even more magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Fantastic, the Italian sausage adds a little something extra. I used twice the carrots and low-fat Italian sausage and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is very good but I'd only use maybe half that amount of chicken .... I still had to cook in stages as others have said. I added zucchini. Next time I'll probably add more tomatoes and some broth or something--I like more sauce than this made. I had it over egg noodles with crusty french bread. Again, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Made this Sunday for our Dinner Club. Everyone loved it!! Used fresh thyme instead of rosemary because I don't like rosemary. Added a TBL of tomato paste to add some depth, & 1 cup of beef broth for the same reason. Served over rice, would try orzo pasta next time. Oh yea, instead of whole tomatoes I used pureed tomatoes, because I don't like the seeds of the tomatoes in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States