Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was excellent. I used fresh tomatoes as that is what I had. I added a splash of chicken stock to make up for the lack of juice from the canned tomatoes. I also used boneless chicken breasts, again what I had on hand, and reduced the simmer to 20 minutes. This is going in to the definate 'do'er again' pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty! My only change was 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of one can of whole. I used b/s thighs so there was no grease that others have mentioned. Served over mashed potatoes with lots of bread for sopping up the juices. Oh- and by using turkey sausage it was a pretty healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was very good using canned italian flavored diced tomatos and adding a little extra italian seasonings to the chicken before I coated it with flour. I think without that it would not have been quite as much flavorfull. I used white wine instead of red and used a water/cornstarch mixture to thicken the sauce. Served over extra wide egg noodles...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
this was awesome and really easy, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This smelled wonderful while it was cooking. But the taste was bland and a little off, I am not sure if it was the wine or something else. I do not think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe! I've never had a traditional Coq Au Vin, but this was so easy and delicious. I made the recipe as is (just thickened up the sauce at the end with a little corn starch and water) and served it stew style with some whole wheat bread! My family and I both thought there was plenty of sauce. This one's a keeper, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I substituted summer squash and zuccini for the carrots and thickened the sauce with the left over seasoned flour I dredged the chicken in. After reading previous reviews, I made sure to serve french bread as a savory sauce sweeper. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New London, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious recipe. Super easy and quick to prepare. I served it with pasta which was okay but I guess it would be (much) better with a creamy herbed pollenta...*sigh* well for next time anyway !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I must admit I left out the Italian sausage, but otherwise followed this recipe to the letter. The flavors melded perfectly, and I found the preparation to be very simple. I chose to serve this with cornbread stuffing, as we aren't potato people. Would be simple to increase for a large winter's meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I made this for dinner last night. I used hot sausage instead of sweet, as my husband loves anything hot. I browned the chicken and sausage in different pans, and then combined them in a pot with the remaining ingredients. I usually serve my chicken with rice, but served it on mashed potatoes, as suggested. It was fabulous! My husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States