Coq au Vin alla Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great recipe. I love the combination of French and Italian. The result was a refined, subtle Coq Au Vin. The sauce was delicious and I served it with egg noodles. I only used 4 chicken thighs for the 2 of us, but I did keep the sauce serving the same as written. And it was perfect. I had a little bit of leftover sauce but I had to save it for a well deserved leftover dinner for one with spaghetti. Yum. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Flavor was good. Easy to make, my husband had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Did this recipe for the 2nd time and it was a hit again. Chicken is so moist and tender and the juices are great on mashed potatoes. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I forgot to use the sausage we had on hand, and instead of legs/thighs, I used tenderloins, and decreased the cooking time. It was great! This is definitely a keeper. We served it with bread and just ate it as-is. We used Chianti and that was delicious (both in the dish and in our glasses!) - I'll be making this again for sure, especially to use up veggies from our CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We thought this recipe was really good. I skinned and boned the thighs to make them easier to eat. They came out very tender and flavorful. A couple of small changes, I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I used salt and pepper with the flour. Didn't seem to make a difference. Didn't bother with the sausage either. Next time, I would use diced tomatoes, rather than whole, since I ended up crushing them down before adding them to the pan. Last, I took the cover off for the last 10 minutes of cooking time to get the sauce to thicken more. I served it over quinoa, but rice or cous cous would also work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS. SHOCKLEY
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was really, really wonderful. I used my largest skillet and took the chicken out while sauteing the sausage and veggies, then returned it before the tomatoes and wine. I ended up simmering about 45 minutes and then removed the chicken again for a couple minutes and added a Tbsp. of tomato paste to thicken the sauce a bit. Served it with bowtie pasta and crusty baguettes from a recipe on this site. I think next time I may put everything in a dutch oven or covered casserole and cook it in a slow oven for a couple hours. It would be even more magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Fantastic, the Italian sausage adds a little something extra. I used twice the carrots and low-fat Italian sausage and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is very good but I'd only use maybe half that amount of chicken .... I still had to cook in stages as others have said. I added zucchini. Next time I'll probably add more tomatoes and some broth or something--I like more sauce than this made. I had it over egg noodles with crusty french bread. Again, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Made this Sunday for our Dinner Club. Everyone loved it!! Used fresh thyme instead of rosemary because I don't like rosemary. Added a TBL of tomato paste to add some depth, & 1 cup of beef broth for the same reason. Served over rice, would try orzo pasta next time. Oh yea, instead of whole tomatoes I used pureed tomatoes, because I don't like the seeds of the tomatoes in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States