Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This has the potential to be a really great broccoli cheese soup. As is, it’s just o.k. To me it tasted like broccoli with cheese sauce. It was bland and seemed to be lacking something. I’m thinking it’s the cooking process. It seems backwards. Typically, milk products are added last because simmering can cause curdling, especially if simmered for a long period of time. It works out o.k. for this recipe because it’s so thick from the cheese that you don’t really notice. What I found odd was that half of the cooking time is dedicated to just simmering the milk with plain stock, absent of any vegetables or seasonings of any kind. It’s only in the latter stage when you add the vegetables and those are only cooked just long enough until tender. Onions, celery, and carrots are essential when it comes to adding flavor to any soup broth and it takes time to develop that flavor. I would suggest adding those 3 ingredients to the chicken broth at the beginning so they have more cook time. The other change I would make is when to add the milk. I would start by adding the broth to the flour first and then the milk, but that’s just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this soup and my husband (who is not a really big soup fan) could not get enough of it. Only difference I made to the recipe was using 1 cup milk and 1 cup cream (since I had it on hand), rather than 2 cups 2%. Also, I didn't have the full amount of cheddar, so I threw in maybe 1/3 cup slab of veleeta to make up the difference. But I almost never have velveeta, and would recommend sticking with the cheddar just out of principle's sake. I used the stock to make the flour thickener rather than the milk/cream (just a preference). Then I added the milk and cream at the end with the cheese. It was definitely a delicious and thick soup, just like Panera's. Yum! Thanks a bunch, gildawen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The family loved this soup. The only changes I made was to thin the roux with chicken broth instead of milk and added the broth instead of milk. Then I added all the veggies and simmered it, then added the milk at the end. Wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I had been craving broccoli cheddar soup and went with this one since it looked easy and had great reviews. I left out the carrots and salt by choice and added 3 chicken bouillon cubes. We all enjoyed it very much and I shall make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was good, but it didn't knock my socks off. I found I needed to add 2 more cups of chicken stock to cover the veggies (I didn't measure the broccoli), but the texture was still nice and thick once I added the cheese. It was just blander then I was expecting; I added a tsp or two of garlic salt and a healthy dash of crushed red pepper to add a bit more depth. I think I agree w/the other reviewer from today who prefers another broccoli cheese soup recipe from this site. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This recipe was delishhh! The only reason I am giving it 4 stars and not 5 is because I did modify it a bit. The only veggies I added were a whole onion (recipe calls for a half) and added 2 cups of broccoli. I just do not particularly like carrots or celerey. Also, I only added 2 cups of cheese as that is all I had on hand (note 1 bag of shredded cheese = 2 cups). Overall FANTASTIC recipe! I cannot wait to make it for family and friends now! Leftovers were good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
It was good, but something was off. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added about a cup more broccoli. I will try it again with mild cheddar instead of sharp, maybe that'll take away the weird flavor that it developed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Rave review alert! This was so delicious, we truly enjoyed this soup! I will definitely make this in our future! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Delicious! Made it two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Very similar to Panera's soup. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States