Copper Penny Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I enjoyed this recipe as a starter/build on recipe. However, the next time I prepare it, as a matter of personal preference I would only cook the carrots a couple of minutes or not at all. For my taste the marinade was a little too sweet, I would cut the sugar or increase the vinegar. Also, I felt that a splash of worcestire and prepared mustard would have jazzed this recipe up. I enjoy things zesty and spicy so I would throw in some pepper flakes and garlic. The recipe said to chop, which to me indicates smaller pieces. The next time I will cut the peppers, onions, and celery, it will be a little closer to bite size, to equal the carrots. I might try this recipe again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I USED HALF OF THE SUGAR,AND HALF OF THE VINEGAR,JUST RIGHT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I've made this recipe several times with a few modifications. Basically, I'm using it for the dressing part of the recipe -- I do not modify that part. For the veggies, I usually use carrots, green beans, sliced beets, and sliced onions. If I'm in a rush, I'll use (gasp!) canned carrots and green beans. Reminds me of a salad I've gotten at a German restaraunt. Very nice with German food since I don't care for the typical sauerkraut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Yummy! We love to have this salad in the fridge all summer long. One way I like to serve this is as a topping/dressing over a green salad. Topped w/ crumbled bacon makes it really excellent. I've started cutting back on the oil and never really noticed a difference. I use about 1/4C. of oil and 1/3C. vinegar. Also I switched the sugar to Splenda and decreased that to 1/3C. Love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
My husband loves carrots. I decided to make him copper penny, he had never tasted it. when I made this recipe I cut the sugar (Splenda) and the oil in half. It made a thicker dressing that clings to the carrots. A big hit with Hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I had this salad at my mom's home over Christmas and it was excellent. It was easy to prepare and very tasty. I substituted some home grown green onions for the onion called for in the recipe. I think that the addition of the green onion made the recipe even more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is a recipe my mother used to make, and it's like home food to me. However, my son & husband do not care for it as much as I do - because of the texture of the cooked carrots. I probably won't make it again for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I love the taste of this. I use 3 pounds of carrots and omit the peppers (not a huge fan of peppers). People always comment on how good this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This is a good salad for something a little different. I used less sugar than the recipie calls for and it turned out very good, although there seems to be too much dressing for the amount of carrots. The next time, I will use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My mother-in-law has been making this forever & I was so delighted to find it here. Once you make this, you will understand. It is delish & lasts for over a week in the fridge, gets better the 2nd day. Very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States