Copper Penny Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Good salad. A nice fill-in for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I had this salad at my mom's home over Christmas and it was excellent. It was easy to prepare and very tasty. I substituted some home grown green onions for the onion called for in the recipe. I think that the addition of the green onion made the recipe even more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This is a good salad for something a little different. I used less sugar than the recipie calls for and it turned out very good, although there seems to be too much dressing for the amount of carrots. The next time, I will use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
All adults loved it - kids were apprehensive, but after trying it - so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This is a keeper. Fast, easy and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Very good for potlucks or anytime. Nice that you can prepare this ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I've made this recipe several times with a few modifications. Basically, I'm using it for the dressing part of the recipe -- I do not modify that part. For the veggies, I usually use carrots, green beans, sliced beets, and sliced onions. If I'm in a rush, I'll use (gasp!) canned carrots and green beans. Reminds me of a salad I've gotten at a German restaraunt. Very nice with German food since I don't care for the typical sauerkraut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
My husband loves carrots. I decided to make him copper penny, he had never tasted it. when I made this recipe I cut the sugar (Splenda) and the oil in half. It made a thicker dressing that clings to the carrots. A big hit with Hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Absolutely wonderful taste!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I enjoyed this recipe as a starter/build on recipe. However, the next time I prepare it, as a matter of personal preference I would only cook the carrots a couple of minutes or not at all. For my taste the marinade was a little too sweet, I would cut the sugar or increase the vinegar. Also, I felt that a splash of worcestire and prepared mustard would have jazzed this recipe up. I enjoy things zesty and spicy so I would throw in some pepper flakes and garlic. The recipe said to chop, which to me indicates smaller pieces. The next time I will cut the peppers, onions, and celery, it will be a little closer to bite size, to equal the carrots. I might try this recipe again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States