Copper Penny Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Followed the menu to a T, wife and I loved it, but next time I'll cut recipe in half, and increase cooking time by 1 or 2 min. wife loves, al-dente and raw veggies', I prefer cooked but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I've loved this recipe from the first time I had it. The recipe I use is a tad different. An 8 oz. can of tomato sauce (instead of the soup), 1 tsp. prepared mustard and 1 tsp. Worchestershire sauce are the only difference. Just about any 'firm' veggie works with this dressing. One gal loves to spoon this salad over hot cornbread. Hummmmm, guess whatever floats your boat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Yummy! We love to have this salad in the fridge all summer long. One way I like to serve this is as a topping/dressing over a green salad. Topped w/ crumbled bacon makes it really excellent. I've started cutting back on the oil and never really noticed a difference. I use about 1/4C. of oil and 1/3C. vinegar. Also I switched the sugar to Splenda and decreased that to 1/3C. Love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used baby carrots. Great and refreshing! Did not use celery or onion. just a little green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My mom always makes this for every special occasion (she doesn't add the celery though) and my family can never get enough. I love it, but my husband doesn't care for this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plains, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I love the taste of this. I use 3 pounds of carrots and omit the peppers (not a huge fan of peppers). People always comment on how good this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I USED HALF OF THE SUGAR,AND HALF OF THE VINEGAR,JUST RIGHT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is a recipe my mother used to make, and it's like home food to me. However, my son & husband do not care for it as much as I do - because of the texture of the cooked carrots. I probably won't make it again for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
EXCELLENT RECIPE. My family very much enjoys this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I enjoyed this recipe as a starter/build on recipe. However, the next time I prepare it, as a matter of personal preference I would only cook the carrots a couple of minutes or not at all. For my taste the marinade was a little too sweet, I would cut the sugar or increase the vinegar. Also, I felt that a splash of worcestire and prepared mustard would have jazzed this recipe up. I enjoy things zesty and spicy so I would throw in some pepper flakes and garlic. The recipe said to chop, which to me indicates smaller pieces. The next time I will cut the peppers, onions, and celery, it will be a little closer to bite size, to equal the carrots. I might try this recipe again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States