Copper Penny Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I enjoyed this recipe as a starter/build on recipe. However, the next time I prepare it, as a matter of personal preference I would only cook the carrots a couple of minutes or not at all. For my taste the marinade was a little too sweet, I would cut the sugar or increase the vinegar. Also, I felt that a splash of worcestire and prepared mustard would have jazzed this recipe up. I enjoy things zesty and spicy so I would throw in some pepper flakes and garlic. The recipe said to chop, which to me indicates smaller pieces. The next time I will cut the peppers, onions, and celery, it will be a little closer to bite size, to equal the carrots. I might try this recipe again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I've made this recipe several times with a few modifications. Basically, I'm using it for the dressing part of the recipe -- I do not modify that part. For the veggies, I usually use carrots, green beans, sliced beets, and sliced onions. If I'm in a rush, I'll use (gasp!) canned carrots and green beans. Reminds me of a salad I've gotten at a German restaraunt. Very nice with German food since I don't care for the typical sauerkraut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I USED HALF OF THE SUGAR,AND HALF OF THE VINEGAR,JUST RIGHT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Yummy! We love to have this salad in the fridge all summer long. One way I like to serve this is as a topping/dressing over a green salad. Topped w/ crumbled bacon makes it really excellent. I've started cutting back on the oil and never really noticed a difference. I use about 1/4C. of oil and 1/3C. vinegar. Also I switched the sugar to Splenda and decreased that to 1/3C. Love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
My husband loves carrots. I decided to make him copper penny, he had never tasted it. when I made this recipe I cut the sugar (Splenda) and the oil in half. It made a thicker dressing that clings to the carrots. A big hit with Hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I had this salad at my mom's home over Christmas and it was excellent. It was easy to prepare and very tasty. I substituted some home grown green onions for the onion called for in the recipe. I think that the addition of the green onion made the recipe even more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is a recipe my mother used to make, and it's like home food to me. However, my son & husband do not care for it as much as I do - because of the texture of the cooked carrots. I probably won't make it again for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This is a good salad for something a little different. I used less sugar than the recipie calls for and it turned out very good, although there seems to be too much dressing for the amount of carrots. The next time, I will use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I love the taste of this. I use 3 pounds of carrots and omit the peppers (not a huge fan of peppers). People always comment on how good this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My mother-in-law has been making this forever & I was so delighted to find it here. Once you make this, you will understand. It is delish & lasts for over a week in the fridge, gets better the 2nd day. Very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States