Cooper's Kolacky Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
May I make a suggestion? Try filling with SOLO brand fillings instead of jelly. They have poppyseed, lecvar, apricot, nut etc....The absolute best cookie my mom made for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These cookies are great and remind me of my Grandma's recipe. If you're having trouble rolling out the dough, be sure to use it cold. If it is refrigerated before rolling out, it won't stick to the rolling pin and will be much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
These cookies are melt in your mouth wonderful!I used seedless, black rasberry preserves for the filling and I sprinkled them with powdered sugar before serving. They are like a delicate pastry, without all the work! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Thank you Della, these were divine! I rolled them in red and green crystal sugar instead of icing sugar (which I find too messy), and they were very festive for Christmas. Make sure you seal them well before baking so the jam doesn't leak out. I found the dough quite easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Wow, these are fantastic! I kinda got obsessed about trying to make sure the jelly didn't leak out during baking--at least at first. Then, I realized it didn't matter. If you almost immediately roll in sugar/cinnamon mixture--the mixture "spackles" the leak. These cookies just melt in your mouth. The make a great holiday cookie. I used blackberry and raspberry preserves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Everyone loved these. I recommend chilling the dough before rolling out and filling to avoid a sticky mess. I used blackberry jam to fill them, and they turned out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I love these cookies! they were simple to make, and everyone loved them.I filled them with raspberry and apricot filling that I picked up at my local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This was worth the time & effort to make these little pastries! Not being sure of how they would turn out (they were added to my annual Christmas cookie list) not having any sugar in the recipe......you'll never miss the sugar (unless you roll them in sugar after baking)! The recipe was what my boyfriend has been trying to explain to me that his grandmother made when he was younger.....I'll be experimenting with different fillings next time (walnut; poppyseed, etc.)! This even prompted me to explore the internet on the origin of Kolacky which is quite interesting in itself. Thanks for sharing such a tasty recipe, Della!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
These weren't that great. I only made half the recipe and had to add more flour because it was too sticky. I also added more sugar to dough. I filled it with my homemade cherry jam which was the best part of the cookie. They do melt in your mouth - but I don't like that kind of texture in a cookie. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
i love this recipe! i added a bit more flour and it was easier to work with. i filled mine with nut and poppyseed filling. they look beautiful and taste even better. this dough would be great for whole fruit pies. its really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States