Cool 'n Easy Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is a quick and easy recipe that my husband enjoyed immensely. It has become a permenant addition to our menu. The recipe must be follow precisely or it will not chill correctly and you will have a runny pie. However, I have changed using the ice cubes to just adding 3/4 cup water and have found that works better. I also have added a layers of sliced strawberries to the pie and garnished with kiwi. It definitely a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I eliminated the strawberries and used the fat-free whipped topping to lower the calorie count. Overall, this is a pretty easy recipe...but you MUST follow it exactly or do as the other review said and cut back on the water/ice mixture...or it will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZIAH

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I followed this recipe exactly and in the 15-20 minutes it was in the fridge, a large portion of liquid separated out and sat at the bottom of the bowl. I had to throw the whole thing out and start over. I don't think the whipped topping should be stirred in with a wire wisk; it should be gently folded in with a rubber scraper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was so easy to make and my family loved it with fresh strawberries. I have made it a few times and will make it again once the season starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmcgee220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodmere, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
An easy no-bake pie, however, I would substitute the ice cubes for 1/2 cup of cold water as the ice cubes gelled the gelatin and did not mix well with the cool whip in the end. I used Strawberry Cool Whip which made the pie taste even more intensely strawberry... a kid's pie with little appeal otherwise, i found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Tastes great but I can only rate this at 3 stars because it is not truly a dairy free recipe. Whipped topping has sodium "caseinate" in it which is a dairy protein. The author of this recipe said that she had an allergy to milk-fat but there are many dairy proteins that are not fat byproducts and they cannot be eaten by people with dairy intolerances... be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
We love this recipe at our house. There are never any leftovers. As far as another reviewer saying it was a kid's recipe, ofrget it. It was a huge success at Easter. I do use the fat free whip cream, and like everyone else said, follow the recipe closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
awesome! i 6 of these for a christmas party to feed teenagers and they absolutly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I think this pie is great and easy/inexpensive to make! I've made it a couple of times, and every time it's been a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This Pie is delicious, I have tried it with Straberries/w.Strawberry Jello and Peaches/w.Peach Jello. My kids love it. Go ahead and try it out. TIP>>After mixing be sure to let it sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes before pouring it into the crust. Then let it sit in the firdge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States