Cooky Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
These cookies are ridiculously addicting. They are so simple, but the taste and texture of them are amazing. I left out the nuts and coconut out of personal preference, but I really don't think they're worse off without them. The texture is somewhere between a pecan sandie and a good crumbly peanut butter cookie. While they don't have a greasy appearance or mouthfeel, once you pick one up you'll be looking for a napkin to wipe your fingers on. I halved the recipe and made the cookies small and got 55. I've already eaten an embarrassing amount of them, so I don't think I'll make them again until I have somewhere to take them so someone else can eat them too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These cookies tasted very good. They were addicting, you couldnt just eat one. There are a few small things i would change about the recipe. Instead of adding 1 cup of vegetable oil, i would only use 1/2 cup of oil and substitute the rest for water. This made my cookies less greasy and not as fattening. Also i replaced the walnuts with chocolate chips because i am not a fan of nuts. I would definitly recommend these cookies for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
The best cookie ever! Be sure to flatten them with a glass. Cool cookie for about 5 minutes before handling, they a a little fragile when they are still warm. I made these for a baby shower and added a cup of buttersotch morsels and everyone said they were the best cookie they ever tasted (cut back a little on the sugar if you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Excellent cookie! I was unsure about using so much oil, but it turned out great. I didn't have unsweetened coconut, so I used sweetened and it was fine. I also added 1/2 c of semisweet chocolate chips and 1/2 c of butterscotch chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
This is the cookie my mom used to call "Ranger Cookies" (also sometimes called Cowboy Cookies) -- she got the recipe from the LA Unified School District. This dough makes a great chocolate chip cookie -- just add 3 or 4 cups chips to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This recipe is awesome! I'm always looking for something other than the usual chocolate chip or oatmeal drop cookie. This is it. Try it-fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I was sooo worried that they were going to come out very greasy because of the amount of oil ad butter in them. Surprisingly, my very critical family all loved them! They were really good, light and delish. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These cookies are great. I took them to a holiday party. No one could figure out what was in them! And they all had different guesses - and laughed when I told them! They are crispy on the outside, and chewy on the inside. They are also very rich - you can see the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I think this is an excellent recipe as a start for someone who has never prepared cookies before. So yes, this was my first time baking cookies! I found this recipe very easy, as well very flexible and "beginner friendly". Everything went smoothly, except something I did wrong, and I repeat here because even though it's said on the instructions, it might not seem that obvious for someone who tries to bake cookies for the first time: Be careful with the amount of dough you pour on the cookie paper for each cookie! without pretending it, I ended up with monster sized cookies :-) As well they became a bit too greasy. I wonder what could be made to prevent it. That's all. Very nice overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
excellent cookies. I was not sure with all that oil. they are rich and very very tasty. everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States