Cooky Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Superb recipe, and the cookies DO improve immensely a day or two later - I always thought warm cookies were the best, but not in this case. I used 1 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce and omitted the oil entirely, and added 1 tsp cream of tartar as another reviewer had suggested. I reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon (thank you, previous reviewer!). I substitued butterscotch chips instead of walnuts, and I used "honey nut cornflakes" in lieu of plain cornflakes. Everybody raved about these cookies - especially my grandchildren. I left the whole batch at their house and I'm going to make them again tomorrow, using Heath bar chocolate toffee chips. I think those will be even yummier than the butterscotch chips. THANK YOU for this outstanding recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Mine turned out super crumbly. I wanted a cookie that held together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I added a 1/2 cup cocoa powder, and omitted the nuts and coconut for my hubby. they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great, easy to make if I had the ingredients on hand, but I didn't so I turned them into peanut butter. First cookies made from scratch, made them too big haha XD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were great cookies! I added 1 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 tsp almond extract and substituted chocolate flakes for the coconut. All the nuts was a big hit for this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
OMG!! THESE COOKIES ARE AMAZING!! I didn't have corn flakes so I substituted them with Honey Bunches of Oats and I added white chocolate chips:) DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Warning! Do not make these cookies if you are on a diet. Addiction risk! Some of the best cookies I have ever eaten. Melt in your mouth. I only omitted the nuts - don't like 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I altered this recipe but I am going to rate it anyway. I only had one stick of butter so I halved the recipe. However, I used heaping 3/4 cups of the coconut, oats, and cereal. Instead of corn flakes I used rice krispies, and my coconut was sweetened. I omitted the nuts, and added 3/4c semisweet chocolate chips. I used a tablespoon-sized cookie scoop, and flattened out a couple on the first batch to see how I preferred them. I prefer them dropped right from the scoop, unflattened. Mine were perfect right at 8 minutes. When I tried them fresh out of the oven, I was disappointed - they somehow seemed totally flavorless. However, one thing I have learned about baking cookies is that they almost always taste way better the next day, So, I tried them the next morning and they were FANTASTIC. Delicious flavor, and I love love love the texture (although my alterations definitely changed that). They were chewy, yet not cakey at all, and the rice krispies gave a definite crunch. I love recipes like this, ones that allow lots of customizing. I took them to work and everyone loved them (and my co-workers don't mind sharing their true feelings!) This is definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Easily THE best cookies i have made. I can't believe they turned out so good!! it's just I think i didn't bake them long enough because they are kind of soft, but they are still DELICIOUS!!! Oh and I didn't have rolled oats so i used old fashioned Quaker oats instead. Definately would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Very good flavour. The only thing I omitted was the nuts. Added a bit more cornflakes to make up for that. Also mixed everything with a wooden spoon. Makes loads of cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States