Cooky Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Superb recipe, and the cookies DO improve immensely a day or two later - I always thought warm cookies were the best, but not in this case. I used 1 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce and omitted the oil entirely, and added 1 tsp cream of tartar as another reviewer had suggested. I reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon (thank you, previous reviewer!). I substitued butterscotch chips instead of walnuts, and I used "honey nut cornflakes" in lieu of plain cornflakes. Everybody raved about these cookies - especially my grandchildren. I left the whole batch at their house and I'm going to make them again tomorrow, using Heath bar chocolate toffee chips. I think those will be even yummier than the butterscotch chips. THANK YOU for this outstanding recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Mine turned out super crumbly. I wanted a cookie that held together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I added a 1/2 cup cocoa powder, and omitted the nuts and coconut for my hubby. they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great, easy to make if I had the ingredients on hand, but I didn't so I turned them into peanut butter. First cookies made from scratch, made them too big haha XD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were great cookies! I added 1 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 tsp almond extract and substituted chocolate flakes for the coconut. All the nuts was a big hit for this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
OMG!! THESE COOKIES ARE AMAZING!! I didn't have corn flakes so I substituted them with Honey Bunches of Oats and I added white chocolate chips:) DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Warning! Do not make these cookies if you are on a diet. Addiction risk! Some of the best cookies I have ever eaten. Melt in your mouth. I only omitted the nuts - don't like 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I altered this recipe but I am going to rate it anyway. I only had one stick of butter so I halved the recipe. However, I used heaping 3/4 cups of the coconut, oats, and cereal. Instead of corn flakes I used rice krispies, and my coconut was sweetened. I omitted the nuts, and added 3/4c semisweet chocolate chips. I used a tablespoon-sized cookie scoop, and flattened out a couple on the first batch to see how I preferred them. I prefer them dropped right from the scoop, unflattened. Mine were perfect right at 8 minutes. When I tried them fresh out of the oven, I was disappointed - they somehow seemed totally flavorless. However, one thing I have learned about baking cookies is that they almost always taste way better the next day, So, I tried them the next morning and they were FANTASTIC. Delicious flavor, and I love love love the texture (although my alterations definitely changed that). They were chewy, yet not cakey at all, and the rice krispies gave a definite crunch. I love recipes like this, ones that allow lots of customizing. I took them to work and everyone loved them (and my co-workers don't mind sharing their true feelings!) This is definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Easily THE best cookies i have made. I can't believe they turned out so good!! it's just I think i didn't bake them long enough because they are kind of soft, but they are still DELICIOUS!!! Oh and I didn't have rolled oats so i used old fashioned Quaker oats instead. Definately would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Very good flavour. The only thing I omitted was the nuts. Added a bit more cornflakes to make up for that. Also mixed everything with a wooden spoon. Makes loads of cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States