Cooky Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Tara Gosse
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Love these! They make so many so it is great for sharing and still having enough at home. They have a very nice texture on the outside(all that butter and oil). Remind me a lot of Ranger cookies. They taste like GOOD supermarket bakery cookies. I only had about 1/2 cup of pecan chips and they were great. I would like big pieces of walnuts but they are not for everyone. Someone says they are chewy, maybe if I used butter flavored shortening or maybe margarine but not with Butter. They are definitely a crispy butter texture. My hubby wants choc. chips in them as I see some others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My household doesn't like coconut or nuts (we have a nut allergy), so I left these two ingredients out and threw in 2 cups of mini chocolate chips! Also used Frosted Flakes instead of Corn Flakes (since that's what was in our pantry). Worked GREAT! Everyone loved the surprise of the cereal in the cookies! I had no problem with oiliness at all! They were perfect! Definitely keeping this recipe! Thank you SOOO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I read the reviews before trying this recipe out and have to disagree with what most reviewers said; there is WAY too much oil in these cookies. I used 3/4 of a cup and wish I had decreased it to a 1/2 cup, or even omitted it all together and used milk. I liked the texture of the cookie -- the crunch of the cereal with the chewy oats and coconut, but found the flavor pretty bland. I would add some cinnamon, use 1 Tablespoon vanilla instead of two teaspoons, and add chocolate chips. But I probably won't be making this one again. There are better cowboy cookie recipes on this site that I have tried. It was also super annoying having to scrub my hands clean between every batch in order to not get oil all over everything I touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
It was my first time ever making cookies, it wasn't that difficult :) Although the first tries ended up with some burnt cookies, at the end I got around 40 good looking cookies. The only difference was that I used sliced almonds instead of the walnuts, but it turned up good. Very good recipe, thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made these for a meeting and they went over so, so well. I did make a change and used chopped cashews because that's what I had on hand and I also added dried cranberries. There were absolutely no cookies left by the time we left the meeting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maryville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These are awesome cookies! I used rice crispies instead of corn flakes and they turned out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Justofin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
SOOOOOO GOOOD!!! I didn't have any rolled oats or walnuts (that would have totally made the cookie) but they were still delicious : ) I added chocolate sprinkles and sweetened coconut (that's all I had on hand). Super easy recipe. I also used an ice cream scoop to make all the cookies the same size. Thanks a bunch for making this a cookie afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Loved them! I made them for my husband to take to work for a gift for one of the departments he works with. Received notes the next day "I want your recipe" You can't go wrong with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
OMG... So Delish! i didnt use coconut, family doesnt like it, instead of walnuts and corn flakes i just used a little more flour and rolled oats and used about a cup an half of salted pumpkin seeds,unsalted raw sunflower seeds and flack seeds.. added about 2-3 tsp of vanilla and tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Turned out Fabulous! Great Recipe as a base!!! Thanks! and Yes the oil works Fantastic!.. only made half of recipe and added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I don't know where I went wrong, but no one in my family liked these. They sat for a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States