Cooky Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Have made this several times exactly as the recipe is written - except I did crush the cereal thoroughly, and used pecans instead of walnuts. My husband just got through saying: "Cookies don't get any better than this!" If you don't follow the recipe as it's written, then don't blame your failure on the recipe. For those of you who start switching out the oil for other ingredients, consider this: This recipe made 10dz approx 2" cookies- divide the 1 cup oil by the 120 cookies and you're getting an infinitesimal amount of oil per cookie. And oil is not a saturated fat. I use a soya or canola for a healthier oil. Some people comment on the crumbly texture of the dough - if you really beat the butter and sugars until fluffy as per the recipe, then slowly add in the oil, then beat it really well before adding the rest of the ingredients, you will have an easy to manage dough that holds up. I didn't flatten the cookies - they smoothed out on their own. And lastly, to those who took off stars because of the length of time to bake their cookies, the time should always be regarded as a guideline - every single oven differs. Mine took 15 minutes for the first 3 trays, and 12 for the last 2 last trays. Thank you LintonBJ for an excellent recipe. By the way, I love the suggestion from some reviewers about freezing the balls of dough. I will do that some time, it's an excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These are very good. I followed the previous suggestion and used just 1/2 c veg oil and 1/2 water. Next time I will try without the water and see what happens as there seems to be enough liquid without. I'll consider leaving the nuts out also. There's enough crunchy texture with the oatmeal, cereal and coconut. The cookie also spread nicely without having to flatten it and had a nicely browned cracked top after baking 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I didn't have 1 cup unsweetened flaked coconut, so left it out, and upped cornflakes a cup instead. The cookies were buttery, solid, with just the right amount of tender/crisp without being hard and crunchy, or soft. Great cookie jar cookie. I made about 5 dozen, froze half right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I was expecting great things from these cookies and was disappointed with the end result. I halved the recipe and replaced the nuts with M & M's and used mostly applesauce instead of the full amount of oil. Oh well...there's lots of other cookie recipes on this site to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My grandmother has a recipe like this that she calls 'Cornflake cookies' or 'Dishpan cookies' though with slightly diff measurements for the ingredients and she bakes them at 325 for 15 min. I love these cookies but it is soooooo true u can't eat just one, so i bake them and then give them away to coworkers and friends asap! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great cookies and easy to follow recipe! I followed the advice of another by using 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup water and it worked well. This makes a lot of cookies so consider cutting it in half. I also didn't use the nuts (personal preference). Again - GREAT Cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wlcoyle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I like the batter but the corn flakes make some bite tough and chewy. I would leave them out. It adds nothing to the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Scovill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
VERY good cookie! The corn flakes add a crunch and taste that make these the type of cookie recipe I'd make again and I HATE baking cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These are so easy to make and taste so good. They were hard to keep on the table as I baked them. Family loved them. They stay moist for a longer time so that makes them even better. I was a little worried about the consistancy of the batter but when the cookies were finished I understood why it called for the oil and butter. Delicious! will be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I had to add more oil (about 1/4 cup) and 1/2 cup of water before the fun stuff...tasty dough but a little dry, especially for what was to come...I added (unmeasured) corn flakes, small marshmallows, red hots, mini m&m's, a lot of oatmeal, honey...and that may have been all. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States