Cooking Light magazine's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I was so happy with this recipe. I tried it with 2 eggs instead of egg substitute and 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 cup of white flour, and 1/2 cup of soy flour, instead of 3 cups of white flour, for added protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Well, its funny with this one. I made this bread when I had a baby sized zucchini on my hands (and still had half leftover after the recipe!) and wasn't sure it had turned out as moist as I had hoped on the first night as I tried it still-hot from the pan. Ironically by the next day it was fabulous. It didn't have that stretchy texture that sometimes comes with applesauce-substituting recipes. And so here I am, 3 days later and still absolutely loving this still moist bread. I did change a couple of things. I added a small handful of chopped walnuts and a couple handfuls of raisins. I also ended up using two egg whites instead of the substitute. Oh, and I actually did about half whole wheat and half white flour. Overall, the recipe was excellent and none the worse for my "creative" cooking :-) A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
AWESOME! THIS IS JUST AS MOIST AS NON-LIGHT BREADS I HAVE MADE AND JUST AS TASTY. I USED 2 EGGS INSTEAD OF THE SUB. AND ADDED 1 TSP. EACH OF CLOVES AND GINGER! BEST RECIPE FROM THE SITE BY FAR!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
When looking for a recipe I found this one with less sugar. This is much better for a dibetic. All enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Using applesauce as a fat substitute sometimes makes my bread products rubbery, but not with this recipe. The bread was delightfully moist, dense and flavorful. I even used half white, unbleached flour and half whole wheat pastry flour. I also added a 1/4 TSP ground nutmeg and 1/4 TSP ground ginger along with the 1 TSP cinnamon and left out the vanilla extract all together. This recipe yielded 5 baby loaves, baked at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes only. The bread was even tastier and spicier the next day. I never need to bake a full-fat version again. :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is a great recipe. I actually made mini-muffins using this recipe. I used 1 cup of all-purpose flour, 1 cup of wheat flour and 1 cup of oatmeal in place of the flour. I used applesauce in place of the oil and only used 3/4 cup sugar. I also did not have enough zucchini so I shredded some carrots. It turned out great. Because, I used no oil in the recipe, I did lightly spray the muffin cup liners with a little oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Really tasty. I didn't use egg substitute I used two eggs, so not as lowfat as originally listed but much healthier than some of the other recipes. Thought it was a little sweet and would use less sugar. The extra loaf freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I expected this to be dry but it wasn't although it certainly isn't as moist as most quick breads. I cut the sugar by 1/4 of a cup, used whole wheat flour, and used baby food applesauce. I also added 1/4 tsp. each ginger and nutmeg. It turned out to be very tasty - despite the whole wheat flour it was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this bread yesterday for my fam and it was great! added chocolate chips to some. and i substituted more than half the sugar for splenda, and 2/3 of the flour for whole wheat white flour. next time i'll do all whole wheat white! it was moist and tasted fab. My dad usually doesn't like healthier versions but he loves his mini-loaf with nuts in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Like others suggested, I only used 1 c. of sugar and used 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States