Cooking Light magazine's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This is a delicious bread. The applesauce makes it very moist. To give it more protein and crunch, I added 1/2 to 2/3 cup of chopped pecans - you can also use walnuts if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I made a change in the recipe by substituting Splenda for the sugar. I knew the bread might taste a little different, but it was not very moist. It was okay, but the flavor was not as good as other zucchini bread I have tasted. I guess I will need to make it again using the sugar to be able to give it an honest review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Using applesauce as a fat substitute sometimes makes my bread products rubbery, but not with this recipe. The bread was delightfully moist, dense and flavorful. I even used half white, unbleached flour and half whole wheat pastry flour. I also added a 1/4 TSP ground nutmeg and 1/4 TSP ground ginger along with the 1 TSP cinnamon and left out the vanilla extract all together. This recipe yielded 5 baby loaves, baked at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes only. The bread was even tastier and spicier the next day. I never need to bake a full-fat version again. :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This didn't taste like a light bread at all! It has a wonderful flavor and is very moist. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This is a great recipe. Add some nuts and its perfect! Is one of the better low fat. If you add applesauce it makes it dense and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Well, its funny with this one. I made this bread when I had a baby sized zucchini on my hands (and still had half leftover after the recipe!) and wasn't sure it had turned out as moist as I had hoped on the first night as I tried it still-hot from the pan. Ironically by the next day it was fabulous. It didn't have that stretchy texture that sometimes comes with applesauce-substituting recipes. And so here I am, 3 days later and still absolutely loving this still moist bread. I did change a couple of things. I added a small handful of chopped walnuts and a couple handfuls of raisins. I also ended up using two egg whites instead of the substitute. Oh, and I actually did about half whole wheat and half white flour. Overall, the recipe was excellent and none the worse for my "creative" cooking :-) A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This zucchini bread is so good - and you wouldn't know that it's light! I used 1/2 all-purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour to make it a little more nutritious. It was just so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! Very light and fluffy! Wonderful taste! Very, very moist and enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Wonderfully moist and dense. I added nutmeg- will probably add ginger and cloves too next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Very tasty! Great flavor, not heavy. Doesn't taste like a "light" recipe at all! Thank you for sharing this. Note: in place of egg substitute, you can use 2 large egg whites mixed with 1 Tbsp. dry milk to equal 1/4 cup of substitute. I did this since I didn't have any egg beaters on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States