Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This cake is amazing!!!! I used Hershey's cookies n cream frosting on it instead..... The cake barely made it to the table before it was gone. Like I said...... AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Wonderful cake. I used 2 eggs rather than the 3 egg whites, and I used organic chocolate cake mix rather than white cake mix. I also added more oreo crumbs because the cake mix I purchased was a couple ounces shy of what the recipe called for, and I wanted a larger cake. I used my own recipe for frosting. Very moist, and after a few days in the fridge it is still wonderful. Every time I cut a slice I added frosting so that the cake wasn't exposed to the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I gave this a 4 because the first time I followed the recipe & found it needed more oreo flavor...crucial. Otherwise if we were going by presentation, it would've gotton a 5. The second time I improved the flavor by increasing the oreos to 2-2.5 cups & when crushing the oreos, I did so leaving large pieces...you know like with cookies & cream ice cream when you come across those "bonus" bites. It's so much better using chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This would have gotten 5 stars but the frosting is a little weird. I was hesitant to use that much shortening for fear it would taste 'waxy,' but decided to try it this time and see what happens. My fear was spot on - the frosting tasted just fine but had a waxy texture. Is there another way to make the frosting without using so much shortening, or something else you could use instead....? I also used closer to a cup and a half of cookie crumbs in the cake mix, instead of just a cup. It was just right! Also used some crumbled cookies in the frosting rather than garnishing with the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is SOOO GOOD!! I used the recipe from this site, Simple White Cake instead of a box cake mix. Made cupcakes (12 regular size) instead of a whole cake. These cupcakes were very YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I will never make this cake again! I decided to make it for my son's birthday and it is falling apart as a write this! It was difficult to get out of the pans, yes I greased and floured them, and I thought the icing might hold it together. But boy was I wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet cheeks
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made this for my Son's birthday, it was Awesome! I only made a few revisions a la some of the suggestions here...I used 1 c water and 1/4 cup milk in the cake mix, used 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites, and used about 1/4 cup milk in the icing and beat the heck out of it to make it lighter and fluffier..this is definitely a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very, very artificial tasting. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
so incredibly rich and delicious.... if you love cookies and cream and oreos you will love this recipe... I made this the night ahead and put in in the refrigerator and then when I went to cut it it kind of crumbled and fell apart... next time I will be sure to eat it fresh.. but everyone still loved it... when I stacked the two cakes I frosted them and put a layer of crumbs between them.... no bad remarks on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this for my cousin's birthday as something a little different from the regular "dirt" cake. Everyone thought this tasted great. I used two cups of cookie crumbs in the cake mix, which turned out well but was a little crumbly, I think I will only use 1 1/2 cups next time. I also made a 13 X 9 pan instead of two rounds, which I baked for 28 minutes. For the frosting, I was intending to make as written, but ran out of shortening and had to sub in 1/4 cup of butter for part of it. This is a cake I will be making again! It would be even better with a side of cookies & cream ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States